Ancient hymns – Through the love of Christ our saviour

It’s another Sunday and we’ll be looking at a beautiful hymn. This hymn talks about having faith that stormy times will eventually become calm.

I’ve been in Benin-city since Wednesday, I went to collect my certificate and spend time with my baby brother. Earlier today, I went to the Protestant chapel where I used to worship during my days in the university and this hymn was the recessional hymn. Although they used a different tune which made me slightly irritated, I’ve decided to share the beautiful hymn here.

Through the love of God our Savior,
All will be well;
Free and changeless is His favor;
All, all is well.
Precious is the blood that healed us;
Perfect is the grace that sealed us;
Strong the hand stretched out to shield us;
All must be well.

Though we pass through tribulation,
All will be well;
Ours is such a full salvation;
All, all is well.
Happy still in God confiding,
Fruitful, if in Christ abiding,
Holy through the Spirit’s guiding,
All must be well.

We expect a bright tomorrow;
All will be well;
Faith can sing through days of sorrow,
All, all is well.
On our Father’s love relying,
Jesus every need supplying,
Or in living, or in dying,
All must be well.

This song was written by Mary B Peters *Yay! A woman!* in 1847 and the tune is set to an old Welsh melody.

4 Comments

  1. Mehn Bubba.. This is the third Hope giving post i have read this morning, and i kinda feel like the heavens are telling me something.. as the storms in my life often seem like they will never clear.. But i am learning to believe that one day someday gbo gbo e ada like Mother used to say.. Cheers Bubba.. Thank yoooouuuu for this post. 🙂 You Rock otunne.

    Reply

Leave a comment