Ancient hymns – Jesu My Lord

We’re still looking at love songs… This one is one of my favourite. Today’s hymn has been a favoutite hymns of millions of Christians across generations, denominations and creeds.

It was composed in 1854 by Henry Augustine Collins 1827 – 1919, he was an Anglican priest who eventually crossed over to become Roman Catholic. There are melodies for this song but the most popular is Adoro Te by Joseph Barnaby in 1872.

Sometimes I get overcome when I sing this song, I imagine the hunger for God that this writer must have felt and  how grateful he was for God’s presence in his life. Before I start gushing – here’s the song.

Jesus, my Lord, my God, my All,
Hear me, blest Savior, when I call;
Hear me, and from Thy dwelling place
Pour down the riches of Thy grace;
Jesus, my Lord, I Thee adore;
O make me love Thee more and more.

Jesus, too late I Thee have sought;
How can I love Thee as I ought?
And how extol Thy matchless fame,
The glorious beauty of Thy name?
Jesus, my Lord, I Thee adore;
O make me love Thee more and more.

Jesus, what didst Thou find in me
That Thou hast dealt so lovingly?
How great the joy that Thou hast brought,
So far exceeding hope or thought!
Jesus, my Lord, I Thee adore;
O make me love Thee more and more.

Jesus, of Thee shall be my song;
To Thee my heart and soul belong;
All that I have or am is Thine;
And Thou, blest Savior, Thou art mine;
Jesus, my Lord, I Thee adore;
O make me love Thee more and mo

4 Comments

  1. I don’t know if you know this hymn book – Ancient and Modern Hymns & Songs. Anyway, I remember the Igbo version. Loved it! All those hymns translated into Igbo, sung to the same tune but with ogene, udu and ekwe accompanying. Absolutely brilliant!

    Reply

    1. We use ancient and modern in church every Sunday! I’d love to listen to it with igbo instruments. It would be wonderful! Unfortunately the church in my village is an Anglican cathedral, they use “modern” instruments.

      Reply

      1. I know what you mean!
        Those ‘modern’ instruments don’t do justice to real heartfelt worship. They just drown out our voices and fool us into thinking the louder we are, the more God will hear us!

Leave a Reply

