The Other Son 2

  Yesterday I talked about the story of the prodigal son and some of my thoughts on the story. Actually this post was written right after that one, in fact when I started writing that post what I had in mind was what I’m about to talk about today but somehow approval and appreciation came out and I had to run with it.

  The story of the prodigal son is more than just the story of redemption but it’s also one of the most tragic stories in the bible. It’s the story of a man who had everything and yet lived like a pauper and no it’s not the prodigal son, it’s his older brother. Remember that his father had divided his wealth between the sons. This meant the father had no wealth anymore yet he continued to control his elder son’s portion (which wasn’t a bad thing).

However despite the fact that he’d become a “millionaire”, he still lived a miserable life. His existence was cheerless and joyless as we can see from his words “you haven’t even given me even a kid to celebrate with my friends”. How pathetic! How terrible! He probably still slept in the same room he used to, still wore the same clothes and nothing in his life even changed.

  The prodigal son had a better understanding of his wealth and position and even though he mismanaged his wealth, at least he got to use it. Ecc 10:7 talks about servants on horseback while Princes are walking, or to put it in today’s context- maiguards riding SUVs while Dangote’s sons are trekking. Now do you see it? The upset of the natural order right? Sadly I’m not sure the older brother eventually grasped the lesson, that everything he wanted were at his disposal. All the flocks, servants, money, fine babes 😉 etc were his to beckon on.

  Sadly we still live like that today, I still live like that today. Unable to grasp the fact that everything in heaven and earth are at my disposal, my heavenly father has given me authority in Christ Jesus. It’s really terrible that we fail to enjoy the benefits of Jesus Christ’s agonies on the cross, it hurts him that we struggle and groan for things that are ours already. Unable to experience joy and love and laughter because we are stifled by nonexistent chains, unable to take what is ours and celebrate and have good lives. If I were Jesus I’d slap plenty people especially Adaeze Chinanuekpere Ezenwa- that woman needs some mind resetting slaps sometimes.

Now I’m not saying that trials and hard times will not come, in fact it is a promise that they will come. However it’s our right to “party like it’s 1999” even through the hard times, by partying I mean being filled with joy. My primary temperament is melancholic, I’m very good at seeing the negatives, the problems, the inefficiencies etc. It’s very easy for me to get fixated on the negatives around me and fail to see the beautiful things God has blessed me with. Basically I’m writing this for myself but I’m sharing it with you. I’d come back to this post when I feel overwhelmed by certain things, I’d see this and remember that like the older son all I want is at my disposal and I can just reach for it- the grace to bear my burdens, joy and peace as well as love for my fellow man.

I’ll close with some of my favourite verses in the bible Ephesians 3:16-21

16  I pray that out of his glorious riches he may strengthen you with power through his Spirit in your inner being,
17 so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith. And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love,
18 may have power, together with all the saints, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ,
19 and to know this love that surpasses knowledge–that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.
20 Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us,
21 to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.

  May we never fail to grasp how wide and long and high and deep the love of Christ is for each of us in Jesus name.

5 Comments

  1. You know mami, I think I hurriedly read yesterday’s post cuz midway into this post I got confused, I had to go read yesterday’s post again and Yup! Now I get it. I love how much self-realization is in this article…atleast you realized that you got everything through Christ Jesus. Mami, some people haven’t and there was a time, I was very ignorant of that fact. It took the grace of God mehn… Love mi some Adaeze!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

