29 things I’m grateful for.

This post was supposed to go up yesterday, the twenty-ninth day of December is one of my favourite days in the year, you see- it is the day I get to say my birthday is next tomorrow. This year has been tumultuous, the changes I have been through seem to have been too intense for one year. However I am grateful for a lot of things, maybe more than twenty-nine, maybe less but let’s start…

 

  1. I am grateful for God’s love which sustains me, even in the hard times.
  2. Sometimes life sucks, but it’s usually better to be alive… right?
  3. Family can be trying, however if you’re blessed with a good one like man. They’ll make life sparkle.
  4. My soul would wilt without adventure, I might not have had many this year but my soul hasn’t been in the danger of wilting.
  5. I am grateful for good health, I have had many health scares this year, including the hit and run of last week. It’s only made me more appreciative of the days when my biggest problem was balancing a budget.
  6. I am grateful for the gift of friendship, my friends both offline and online have coloured my world with vibrant colours and hues of awesomeness. Daalu.
  7. How can I forget the books that have taken me to worlds and climes without visas or rocket ships? My life would have been duller without them.
  8. I met Hero in 2013, my life took many twists and winding paths to get to that point and I cannot imagine where I’d be without this annoyingly, stubborn person that insists on pushing me when I’d rather lie back and cry. I’d be lost without you my darling, you know this.
  9. I am grateful for my parents (aren’t they covered with the family tag? No), who only become more amazing and wise as I grow older. At a certain point in my life, I was quite the troublesome child- you know the kind, the one who knew everything and wasn’t afraid to show it. I wonder how they lived through it and didn’t kill me.
  10. Obviously my brothers come next, I do not miss having sisters (most of the time) because they have never let me feel that void. They love me with a love I do not deserve but I’m fiercely grateful for.
  11. I have one grandparent left, my mother’s mother and she is the sweetest woman God created. She’s 88 and she is the most precious person I know.
  12. Ripe plantain is my favourite food, no matter the form it comes- roasted, boiled, fried, whatever. Did you know that Plantain is very rich in vitamin A? I’m sure you didn’t. Thank me now!wp-1483135824598.jpg
  13. I am grateful for the gift of writing I came on earth with. When I was younger, I didn’t realise that everyone couldn’t make up worlds in their heads or throw words together in a beautiful sequence quite like I could. I pretty much took it for granted, I don’t do that anymore.
  14. Yes! I am grateful for the blogs I run on wordpress and blogger, apart from the opportunity to meet wonderful people from around the world. They’ve given a purpose in my writing.
  15. Music! So many times the right song has come along and saved my sanity. Life without music is death.
  16. My bed has comforted me through many hard times as well as allowed me oblivion from the things that haunted me. Thank you dear bed.
  17. I am grateful for my job, I might not think it’s the best job in the world but it allows me a small measure of financial independence and a reason to leave the house. It’s all good.
  18. I am grateful for my laptop, It still runs! My laptop and I have been through hell and other crazy things this year, yesterday afternoon, it fell out of my bag and on the concrete floor of my street. I’d already given up on it as I climbed the stairs to the house. I cried when I put it on and nothing happened. Tears of joy people, tears of joy.
  19. Zagira has been my friend for nearly ten years and he gets me most times, it’s beautiful having a friend with whom words are superfluous. Jesus knows how many times we quarrel and he is usually undependable (since I’m not marrying him, it doesn’t matter) but when he comes through, he’s superb.
  20. I’m grateful for flowers and fragrances and the sense of smell to appreciate them.
  21. I love baking and while it’s not helping my fitfam aspirations, it can be relaxing.
  22. And that leads me to the next thing I’m grateful for, the ability to create beauty with beaded jewellery.
  23. I have an android phone and certain apps make it an enjoyable experience, yes I’m grateful for Aldiko, Iroko and Shazam.
  24. As crazy as this sounds, I’m grateful for the crushing disappointments that came this year. No I’m not going to say they made me stronger- though they did, but they made life balanced. That tangy mix of sweet, sour and bitter that makes a heady combination.
  25. I lost my glasses in the accident and went for days using my contacts (very uncomfortable). I’m grateful for this prescription that works so well for me.
  26. I am grateful for love, the romantic kind. It didn’t hit me this year but there’s 2017, innit?
  27. I am grateful for Zeeworld…. I’m running out of things to say, you can tell.
  28. I am grateful for hope, sometimes it is the only weapon in my arsenal, the only thing that gets me out of bed in the morning. I love hope.
  29. Finally I am super grateful to be turning 29 tomorrow! I didn’t know I’d get here, the devil fought many battles to keep from this but his plans weren’t in line with my master plan from Jehovah so it was just a waste of time. Twenty nine, last year as a twenty-something. Amazing!

 

15 Comments

  1. So many things to be grateful for. You are blessed.
    2016 has been the point of departure for me because I found myself and discovered what I really want to do in life. 2017 should be the journey to the destination. I’m open to learning along the way from my experiences.
    I’m grateful for the gift if life !
    I enjoyed reading your post. I love the humor you put in it

    Happy new year and wishing you all the best.

    https://ngraffi.blogspot.com

    Reply

  2. Hmm, what a beautiful post here…ok my favs… The laptop which made u cry hot joyful tears… And Zagriba and romance hitting very close by and wow your birthday like today or is tomorrow? And that is like a day or so after your bobo dad’s… And oh yes Ada thanks for the info on ripe plantain I have been searching for valuable sources of Vit A hahaha… Enjoy your bed and world

    Reply

  3. Hi Adaeze,

    Lol @ Zee World. XD

    I quite like how birthdays make us reflect and appreciate our blessings.

    Gratitude is everything, it opens our hearts to receive even more things to be thankful for. I wish you the very best! Have a happy, happy, happy birthday!

    Reply

  4. Happy birthday Ada!!
    I’m grateful for your heart of gold.

    I hope you’re having a fantastic day.
    Have a wonderful year and may God grant you the desires of your heart in line with His perfect will.

    Reply

  5. @Zee world, I just got hooked on Twist of Fate.
    Happy birthday darling, shine on and may 2017 be your best year yet. Sorry the connection went off when I called….I hope you had a wonderful celebration….

    Reply

  6. I still doubt this love for zeeworld. With the Ada I know the world will be without a TV. Wish I was Zagira but Hero is the Man. Happy belated Birthday to us!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

