Man Vs. Machine- it won…

The title of this post should be woman vs. machine because the story is about a woman but I wanted to keep the M vs. M theme, so M vs. M it is.

 

Earlier today I was at the Nedoux Sewing Club which held somewhere in Lagos and I got to meet Nedu! And fifteen or so other fabulous ladies who obviously had a keen interest in sewing. I loved the class, Nedu was splendid- she made sure she carried everyone along and the course was engaging and interesting. This isn’t so hard, I thought and irony laughed hard at me.

 

It was the machines, the sewing machines- I used two! that robbed me of my triumph or was it satisfaction? It got so bad that I couldn’t stand to stay and watch others fly while I couldn’t even crawl, so I went out and got myself a drink and something to eat (I have to stop using junk food as an emotional clutch) and I called F who encouraged me to go back and make one more try.

 

It didn’t end as we hoped, I had to leave before I collapsed in a heap of tears and frustration (I hope Nedu forgives me for bailing like that). The journey back calmed me, helped me put things in perspective and I no longer felt like the biggest failure on earth (interestingly, I watched a talk by JK Rowlings on failure an hour ago on facebook. I feel much better now).

wp-1476571450587.jpg

Will I still attempt another battle against the beautiful sewing machine? Not anytime soon, I need to recover from this one first. Apart from meeting Nedu and admiring her legs all through the class, I took some pictures that I absolutely love.

 

That’s how my Saturday went, tell me about yours.

17 Comments

  1. Hehehe.
    I won’t comment on the sewing machine palaver. I’m not touching that issue with a 10 foot pole. Send me your measurements though. I told you before.
    And read my last blog post before you start harassing me again.

    Reply

  2. Hahahahaha… You gan try ur hand at sewing… Oya na.. At least u can fix zip.. Abi you no learn that one?😁… Na market and kitchen and housework i do sha.. Not glam like yours

    Reply

    1. Sweetheart I couldn’t even thread the machine properly, it kept pulling off!
      Ironically, I can sew by hand very well.
      Lol @ not as glam as yours, it didn’t feel glam.

      Reply

  3. 😂😂😂😂😂.. It’s one of those things, I can barely manage to sew a straight line with my hand talk less of using a machine 😯.
    Funny thing there is a sewing machine in the house.

    Reply

  4. Lol! I’ve always wondered what I’ll do with a sewing machine and a vehicle someday hehe.

    It’s good that you tried at all, Ada. Perhaps someday you’ll get it right. And even if you don’t, you’ll be better off anyway for trying at all 🙂

    ***I admire Nedu’s hot legs from her photos too 😀

    Reply

  5. Lol you should give it another shot soon though. You never know. Nobody taught me how to sew, not even YouTube and I’ve made a dress for myself before. Just be determined aunty 😊

    Reply

  6. Hi Adaeze,

    I’m glad this inspired a post. 🙂

    I find that sometimes the fear of failing in front others is even greater than the fear of failing itself. Funny how what we define as failure may not even be failure, but just simply delayed success.

    I agree with Timi, what matters is that you tried, and who’s to say that you won’t fly even higher than those other birds the next time you try?

    Reply

    1. I think I will frame this words “Funny how what we define as failure may not even be failure, but simply delayed success”. It changes many things.
      Thanks Nedu, meeting you was awesome.

      Reply

  7. Lol! There is no great thing or accomplishment that Starr with perfection. You could still develop the skill, nothing is hard unless you say so. You can do all things through Christ who strengthens you.
    I admire your courage, at least you tried

    Reply

Leave a Reply

