LOVE LIKE IN A ROCK SONG

LOVE LIKE IN A ROCK SONG

 

I want love like in a rock song,

Vibrant, merry and loud,

A love that burns at all ends,

Without a care for the morrow.

 

I want love like in a movie,

With the thrill of the chase,

To nestle in the shadow of the impossible

Without the sting of reality.

 

I want love like in reggae song,

With the rhythm of the sea,

And the call of wild,

Sipping coconut liquor and wishing for the moon.

 

I want love like in a commercial

All glossy and smooth,

With my favourite song in the background

Just a notch above mute.

 

I want love like in a rap song,

With poetry rising like the waves of the sea,

Power fusing with flow,

All in less than five minutes.

 

I want love like in a novel,

With you and me as perfect as can be,

With boredom banished to the southern oceans,

We’ll flip the pages to the next stage.
 

But darling,

What does it matter what forms it comes?

What is love without you in it?

All I want is you, for now and always.

 

 

 

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

