A Little Compassion…

I wrote this on my facebook wall this morning and decided to share it here.

 

Eketi wrote an insightful piece on PROSTITUTION on her wall and on her BLOG, the type of writing that grabs your heart and wrings it mercilessly.

As expected, the comments were numerous with practicing Christians making up the bulk commenters. I saw some of the most hypocritical bull-crap ever spoken in the history of mankind and for the first time, I understood why Jesus made such scathing comments about the Pharisees and scribes. It was galling to see how the people who claim Christ died for them refuse to show empathy for others whom Christ also died for, didn’t their bibles tell them that Christ died for everyone even prostitutes and thieves?

There was a comment there that I haven’t been able to stop thinking about- it was about ex-prostitutes and marriage. The person talked about how a ‘loose girl’ who ‘altruistically’ gave her body to her boyfriends was better than a prostitute in terms of marriage and how Christians can everything to do with a reformed prostitute but marriage was out of it.

Even a prostitute who had given her life to Christ was not exempted from this sweeping judgment, if you were a prostitute- you are condemned to a life of loneliness. It didn’t matter that if any man is in Christ, he is a new creature with old things passing away, or that if we confess our sins he is faithful and just to forgive them, or that we have an advocate in heaven who pleads for us before the father night and day.

Yet we jump up and down preaching the gospel, we go from place to place- even disturbing people at 5am in the name of spreading the good news. What good news? The good news of self righteousness? that salvation belongs only to people who will attend your church? Or that you are too clean and holy to understand what the lost and oppressed go through?
 

Is this what Christ died for? For us to share stories of victory while our neighbours starve? or build cathedrals and sprawling worship edifices in towns without hospitals? When Jesus fed the crowd with bread and fish, the bible recorded him (Matt 14:14) as being moved with compassion for them. In Matt 9:36 he was also recorded as being moved with compassion as he healed the sick, delivered the oppressed and taught about God and the kingdom.

Compassion is what we were called to do, we were asked to love his sheep if we love him.If he could eat with tax collectors and prostitutes, if he could touch the leper, how the fuck do we think we are too holy to touch the lost and godless? I know most of us have ‘Judgina’ tendencies, we want to judge so badly. I Cor 6:2-3 promises that the saints will judge the world and even the angels too. You will judge and judge and judge and even get tired of judging.
 

Before I end up writing an essay as my status this morning let me close with these words from that apostle y’all like to quote all the time. I Cor 13:1-3
“If I speak in the tongues of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal.
If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing.
If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast, but do not have love, I gain nothing.”

12 Comments

  1. Hi Adaeze,

    How are you?

    I read Eketi’s article. Funny how religion sometimes makes us cover ourselves in sanctimonious robes. We feel warm and cosy, then gaze condescendingly at those we consider un-robed. 😀

    Lol @ “Judgina tendencies” Distant judgment is so easy, but empathy is the path to compassion. Walking a mile in another person’s shoes either mentally or physically will help one feel their pains and joys more acutely.

    Reply

    1. I am fine Nedu
      I couldn’t agree more with what you have written. I don’t understand why empathy is so hard for Christians especially, it’s sad that we who were called to love so vehemently refuse to.

      Reply

  2. Ada,like i wrote on Eketi’s blog, its annoying how we make a big deal about prostitutes forgetting that it takes two to tango.
    I don’t really care for someone’s reason to enter the trade in the first instance even if it was greediness so far she has decided to stop, why should we hold it against her? The past is the past.
    Another thing is that most times our behaviour towards them is horrendous, we treat them like dogs with communicable diseases and expect them to give up the only lifestyle where they are accepted…… Who in their right minds would do that????

    Reply

Leave a Reply

