Carol! TWELVE DAYS OF CHRISTMAS

It’s exactly twelve days to Christmas! Whoop! Whoop! Whoop!


Christmas is my favourite time of the year, from the carols to the food and time spent with family and friends, it’s not surprising that it is such a special time. Beyond all that and most importantly, it is the time we celebrate the greatest gift ever- the birth of our Lord Jesus Christ.
I haven’t been feeling excited about Christmas this year due to a combination of factors but despite all odds, I’m gonna force that feeling whether it likes it or not.
Last year, I did a carol series on this blog. I don’t think I’d go that route this year but I will put up a few lyrics between now and Friday 25th December. Today I’ll be putting up one of my absolute favourite carols- Twelve days of Christmas.

12Days-1.jpg
It’s hard to find anyone who doesn’t like this traditional carol which is also a cumulative song (each verse building on top of the others), even though it has a tongue twisting, brain freezing effect. It is one of the few Christmas songs that is really fun to sing. I knew I was going to put up the song today but I’d almost forgotten about it until I saw a street presentation of the song yesterday night. I was on my way home from Ikeja and the bus I boarded passed through a series of side streets to avoid the traffic at Maryland bus stop. On one of the streets (a few meters after Ouch! Store), we saw a small choir perform the song in front of a little house and they were facing the road. I smiled at them as we passed and knew that I had to post this song, please enjoy this traditional English hymn and think of your true love as you do so… And if you don’t have a true love (like me) think of Jesus Christ.

TWELVE DAYS OF CHRISTMAS

On the first day of Christmas
My true love sent to me:
A Partridge in a Pear Tree

On the second day of Christmas
My true love sent to me:
Two Turtle Doves
And a Partridge in a Pear Tree

On the third day of Christmas
My true love sent to me:
Three French Hens
Two Turtle Doves
And a Partridge in a Pear Tree

On the fourth day of Christmas
My true love sent to me:
Four Calling Birds
Three French Hens
Two Turtle Doves
And a Partridge in a Pear Tree

On the fifth day of Christmas
My true love sent to me:
Five Golden Rings
Four Calling Birds
Three French Hens
Two Turtle Doves
And a Partridge in a Pear Tree

On the sixth day of Christmas
My true love sent to me:
Six Geese a Laying
Five Golden Rings
Four Calling Birds
Three French Hens
Two Turtle Doves
And a Partridge in a Pear Tree

On the seventh day of Christmas
My true love sent to me:
Seven Swans a Swimming
Six Geese a Laying
Five Golden Rings
Four Calling Birds
Three French Hens
Two Turtle Doves
And a Partridge in a Pear Tree

On the eighth day of Christmas
My true love sent to me:
Eight Maids a Milking
Seven Swans a Swimming
Six Geese a Laying
Five Golden Rings
Four Calling Birds
Three French Hens
Two Turtle Doves
And a Partridge in a Pear Tree

On the ninth day of Christmas
My true love sent to me:
Nine Ladies Dancing
Eight Maids a Milking
Seven Swans a Swimming
Six Geese a Laying
Five Golden Rings
Four Calling Birds
Three French Hens
Two Turtle Doves
And a Partridge in a Pear Tree

On the tenth day of Christmas
My true love sent to me:
Ten Lords a Leaping
Nine Ladies Dancing
Eight Maids a Milking
Seven Swans a Swimming
Six Geese a Laying
Five Golden Rings
Four Calling Birds
Three French Hens
Two Turtle Doves
And a Partridge in a Pear Tree

On the eleventh day of Christmas
My true love sent to me:
Eleven Pipers Piping
Ten Lords a Leaping
Nine Ladies Dancing
Eight Maids a Milking
Seven Swans a Swimming
Six Geese a Laying
Five Golden Rings
Four Calling Birds
Three French Hens
Two Turtle Doves
And a Partridge in a Pear Tree

On the twelfth day of Christmas
My true love sent to me:
12 Drummers Drumming
Eleven Pipers Piping
Ten Lords a Leaping
Nine Ladies Dancing
Eight Maids a Milking
Seven Swans a Swimming
Six Geese a Laying
Five Golden Rings
Four Calling Birds
Three French Hens
Two Turtle Doves
And a Partridge in a Pear Tree

6 Comments

  1. Mami… you have brought this good Christmas memories to me.
    Thanks for sharing this song… After this comment, off I run to Church; Christmas carol will be starting any moment… I don’t wanna miss it.

    Cheers.

    Reply

      1. I agree with you, Christmas memories truly are the best. They somehow manage to effortlessly remain inside the indelible memories section of my mind.

        I particularly like the general feeling of good cheer that comes around this time of the year.

        A few days ago, my mum said something really profound- “Christmas happiness comes partly from the feast but it’s mostly from our sense of gratitude for the gift of life to have seen the end of another year”. 🙂

  2. Catching Christmas bug via this posts. From the day I discover that Christmas was a day made up like the rest, I stopped attaching important to it. Ido rather focus on the reason though

    Merry Christmas in advancw

    Reply

    1. Your comment reminds me of what I hate most about growing up- the loss of excitement over many things.
      You can still celebrate the day jare, go to church and enjoy yourself all day.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

