Not Me

NOT ME
I am not me when I am with you
I do not even know the me that you know
I do not like the person I become when you’re next to me.
The brittle and cold woman who is not me.
The one who winces at your breath
Whose blood boils at your touch, flowing through ruptured arteries and veins.
Sputtering muddy brown droplets like rotten tomatoes in hot oil.
I can’t find me, not the me that is me.

I wish you could meet me, the me that exists away from you.
The one who likes to sing love songs and dream.
The one whose gap-toothed smiles flash bright.
The one whose laughter rings and echoes.
The one whose eyes burn with the passion of life and living.
The one whose heart spills love and kindness into every cell
I hope you’ll finally get to meet me.
You’re the one who deserves me most.

Once upon a time I was an aspiring poet, poetry was the big passion of my life and I thought I’d do it forever. I grew up and the demands of life got in the way of my writing. I’m going to try and write more poems, I hope y’all don’t wince too much.

PS Happy Independence day to NIgeria and Nigerians, I don’t think we have anything to celebrate apart from our continued nationhood but that’s just my opinion.

9 Comments

  1. I smile because I think I have met you
    The one who likes to sing love songs and dream.
    The one whose gap-toothed smiles flash bright.
    The one whose laughter rings and echoes.
    The one whose eyes burn with the passion of life and living.
    The one whose heart spills love and kindness into every cell.

    The one whose talent is just so fast
    The one who with ease, takes the pain to educate the world and instruct the ignorant.
    The one who is blessed with a great mind and blessed memory
    The one who assumes a mother figure to many if not all without even knowing it.

    I can go on and on.
    One thing I know for sure is that the who you are is just great and beautifully created by God. I still thank God for the day I met you…lols

    Mami, bless us with more of these… Don’t hold back anymore, mbok.

    Cheers!
    Egwumba’s Blog

    Reply

  2. “I grew up and the demands of life got in the way of my writing”

    Oh Ada.. Nothing should get in the way of that which you love.. Not life.. Not love.. Not Money.. Not the Fear of Success.. and definietly not the fear of Failure. Nothing whatsoever should get in the way of your Dreams… See a Dream and Chase it with all you have got…

    Nigeria is a country flowing with milk and honey.. Truly our Nationhood is the only thing worth celebrating.. Cause as long as we stick togeRRa as one Otunne.. We can find a way to make this country work.. Thanks for sharing Bubba.. This was a very ghen ghen something.. and the crowd goes.. Oooooossshhheey!

    Reply

  3. kindness? naaah,not when she has a chilled bottle of coke or piece of cake*tongue out* nice one though but why wince at d one who deserve u,hold am tight o*wink*

    Reply

Leave a Reply

