Modern Hymns- Lean on me

It’s been a looooong while I put up a lyrics post, I kinda lost my lyrics passion. Life happens.  This is going to be one of my most personal posts, it’s basically a big apology to my friend who’s so good to me and I don’t really really deserve his friendship (friendship not romance) yes Duru it’s you I’m talking to πŸ˜‰ When “he” comes, I’ll tell y’all about it.

   My best friend is a wonderful and awesome man, one of my best friends biko (I don’t wanna get death threats from a certain American Baby and my younger brothers). Anyway this my best friend is delightful, smart, tender, sensitive (no honey, I’m not buttering you up) and most importantly, he’s the most generous person ever.FB_IMG_1442363768933

  This my friend would give you the shirt off his back if you need it, I can’t tell you how many times he’s sneaked cash into my purse even when I tell him I’m fine. However, his most endearing trait is the giving of his time. I’m not the easiest friend to have, I’m usually stubborn, annoying and very closed up and with him, I don’t have to bend to fit any mould, I can be me. Even when he’s terribly angry (I mentioned being annoying earlier) with me, he’d still be there for me when I need an ear to listen, a pocket to pinch from, a solace from heartbreak and a shoulder to cry on. He’s definitely not perfect either (I endure plenty too) but that’s not the focus of today’s post.

This morning I was listening to Kirk Franklin’s Lean on me (i love that song!) and remembered how this my friend (who no longer makes midnight calls and had to go for 6:30am service at another end of Lagos) spent almost four hours talking to me last night and this morning. We talked about something he’d told me over and over about and I’d refused to listen to. Now I can’t tell you why I didn’t listen, I don’t even know myself and it’s not because I take him for granted (as he likes to think- see! He’s not perfect either).

I’m writing this post to say thank you to Olu for all the times he’s allowed me lean on him and for being my rock very many times, the dynamics of our relationship will change soon (you don’t talk to a married man for three hours at night) but you’ll always be my brother (just like the penultimate line of this song). I love you Olu, never forget.

“Lean On Me”

[Bono] Oooooohhh

[Intro:]
[Kirk]
This is for that little child with no father
For that man that doesn’t have a place to stay
For that little boy living with AIDS

[R. Kelly] Can I tell you a story, tell you a story

[Kirk] You can lean on me

[R. Kelly]
There’s a man (oh yes)
Standing on the corner
He has no home
He has no food
And his blue skies are gone (yes it is)
Can’t you hear him cryin’ out

[Crystal Lewis]
And there’s a girl
Searching for a father and a friend
Praying that the storm someday will end
But instead of walking away
Open up your heart and say

[Chorus:]
[Choir]
I am here
You don’t have to worry
I can see…
[Kirk] I can see your tears
[Choir]
….your tears
I’ll be there in a hurry when you call
[Kirk] Yes I will
[Choir] Friends are there to catch you when you fall
[Kirk] Here’s my shoulder
[Choir] Here’s my shoulder, you can lean on me
[Kirk] halleluia
[Mary J. Blige] Ooooohhhhh
[Kirk] Listen

[Mary J. Blige]
Oh, there’s a child
Who is sick and begging to be free
But there is no cure for his disease
He looks up to his mother and

[Choir] As she hold (holds), his hand (hand)
[Bono] Prayin’ that someday
The sun will shine again
[Kirk] And the pain?
[Choir] And the pain will end
[Kirk] Pain will end….Come on

[Choir] I am here
[Mary J. Blige] I am here
[Choir] You don’t have to worry
[Mary J. Blige] You don’t have to worry
[Choir] I can see…
[Mary J. Blige] I see…
[Choir] ….your tears
[Mary J. Blige] ….your tears, yeah
[Choir] I’ll be there in a hurry when you call
[Mary J. Blige] I’ll be there in a hurry when you call
[Choir] Friends are there to catch you when you fall
[Mary J. Blige] I’m your friend and I’ll catch you when, when, when you fall
[Choir] Here’s my shoulder, you can lean on me
[Mary J. Blige] Here’s my shoulder, you can lean on me

[Bridge:]
[R. Kelly]
Tell me, how can I, how can I love Jesus
When I’ve never seen His face
[Bono] Yeah, I see you dying
[Crystal Lewis] And I turn and walk away

[Crystal] So hold my hand
[Mary J. Blige] Oooooohhhhh
[Bono] Let me take you to a friend of mine
[R. Kelly] He’s waiting just to ease your troubled mind
[Kirk] Yeah, yeah, He loves you more than you’ll ever know
[Bono] ‘Stead of walking away
[Kirk] Open up
[Crystal Lewis] Open up your heart and say
[Kirk] Come on

[Chorus:]
[Choir] I am here
[R. Kelly] I am here
[Choir]
You don’t have to worry
I can see your tears
I’ll be there in a hurry when you call
[Kirk] Alleluia
[Choir] Aaaaaaah
[Tamila Mann – Family] When you call, friends will be there to catch you when, catch you when you fall
[Choir] Here’s my shoulder, you can lean on me
[Dalon Collins – Family] Thank you Jesus, yeah
[R. Kelly] OhYeah, oh yeah

[Choir]
Here’s my shoulder, you can lean on me
Here’s my shoulder, you can lean on me
[Bono] You can lean on me
[R. Kelly] Lean on me, yeah, yeah
[Kirk] You’re my friend but you’re also my brother
[Bono] Here’s my shoulder, you can lean on me

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

