Imo river

When I think about my roots and the land of my fathers and mothers, it’s Onu miri Umunanwiri that strikes my mind. The Imo river passes through my town and separates us from ndi Ngwa- ndi n’eri anu madu (oburo mu kwuru). Some of the villages are blessed to have their own beaches, mine is one. The river has sustained us since the dawn of time, we took our palm oil, palm kernels and other palm products to Opobo by canoe, my grandfather even participated in the oil trade before he left for Lagos to find his fortune at the Nigerian Railways.

The same river had been the primary source of water for the town with Iyi Imo providing the water for household needs and Girigiri Nwa Njoku-a spring that has its source at the Imo river, providing drinking water. As a child I remember sitting at the verandah of our house in the morning and watching people on their way to and from the river, most of them envied us for living close to the river and I envied them because I had never even gone to the river.

The first time I went to the river, I went with my dad. I was seven or eight and it was Christmas day. He told me how the river had once been the lifeblood of our town, the missionaries had come through the river bringing with them the church and the schools. The post office, hospital, primary and secondary schools as well as the cathedral of the diocese of Mbaise are all clustered on the road to the river, the center of the town- Ife (yes, there’s an Ife in Imo state) is also on that road to the river.

After washing the clothes, my dad swam. I would have been less shocked if he’d sprouted an extra head, he swam very well. I wondered about all the other things that my father could do that I did not even know about, maybe he could even fly!

I’ve gone back to the river several times since then, I’d even fetched water from the river. The water went to my maternal grandmother because the first time a child fetches water from the river, the water goes to the godparents or grandparents. Seeing the river always gave me a certain peace and tranquillity, I always imagined that the spirits of my ancestors were there and approved of the person I’d become. I’d always imagined shocking my children at that river, I’m not sure what I’d do but I’m still thinking about it. Swimming is definitely not in the plan.
image

Last Sunday, I headed for the river with my aunty Chioma with five little boys trailing us. My grandmother had been buried two days earlier and I was desperate for some comfort especially the one that connects me with the past, present and future. I had no idea that I was headed for heartbreak.

image

image

image

The first sign was the foul smell that I couldn’t quite place the components, then the river itself looked like a faded picture, a poor facsimile of the place that lit my thoughts and dreams. My Iyi Imo is dying, Onu miri Umunanwiri has been desecrated and it weeps.
image

There’s a machine that sits in the middle of the river, connected to it are a series of pipes and the last one ends on the shore where it pumps a slurry of sand and water. Sand has been mined from the river for generations but not like this. The amount of sand that would have been mined in a year is now mined in less than a week, the mining is indiscriminate because the machine cannot differentiate between sand and fish and plankton, it just sucks up what’s beneath it. Everything comes to the shore and the putrid smell of dead sea animals coats the air.
image

Not even Michael Phelps can swim in that water now, two months ago a young man from another town came to the Iyi to have his bath. His body was rejected by the river two days later. I just stood there, heartsick and shaken by this abomination that has caused desolation. I wanted to weep like Rachel, I did not want to be consoled.

There are different types of people in this world- the ones who dream and write, the ones who sit and plot, the ones who reach and grab and the ones who walk and ask why. My aunty Chioma is of the latter group. This was her first visit to the river but she knew the picture was horribly skewed. A young man who eventually became dazzled by her (she’s the kind of woman who can never be a wall flower) explained the new business model to her. The tipper drivers pay the machine owner a certain sum and then three men load sand into the big truck and are each paid a measly five hundred naira each. Five hundred naira for a back breaking job that takes hours, these are men with wives and children.
image

Some people would call this “development”, what would you call it?

I don’t want to think of the ecological implications, we battle with erosion already and that demon is smoking weed. My heart bleeds, I wish I could stop this destruction of my heritage. I don’t know where to start, may my ancestors guide me.

PS… I’m still a Christian.

7 Comments

  1. This is beautifully sad.
    I wouldn’t call it development; I think it’s desecration (silly as that sounds in a world like ours.)
    I think that our villages should be left alone– archaic and ancient as they seem. I think the earth should remain sandy or clay as they always were. I think the trees should be left to grow as they please, except they’re causing problems. And I definitely think that the river should never be touched or destroyed in such a bastardized manner.

    I think Africa, Nigeria should learn to care for her land. It’s the cradle of our birth– how do you presume anyone would need to destroy something as beautiful as their roots?
    Where do they go when it’s impossible to keep up with the urban pace?
    Where do they rest when it’s all over?

    Reply

  2. I join you in your prayers Mami…
    We seem to have no regards for our heritage both natural and artificial. All we are most interested in is capitalizing on every opportunity to make money not minding the consequences. God help us.

    Reply

  3. lemme quickly tell you something about Adaeze Ezenwa.. There is no one!! and I mean No one on Blogger like you.. Quote me any day **Takes off wrist watch and bracelet.. I mean i go to literally 50 blogs every week.. But I do not read anyone or meet anyone who writes as ghen ghenLy as you.. You have a mind that cannot be measured.. and imagination that cannot be limited. Wow! Wow! Wow!!! Inshort Just WOW!

    Okkkaaayyyy… So the white man came .. and that was how our natural Wisdom was exchanged for ODE and Calculus which we neFer use, so did machnes.. Our Farming was exchanged for the White collar job entailing us sitting for 8 hours before a screen that blinds us.. We traded our Heritage for money, our culture for religion, our Rafia for fiber, we exchanged our certainty for an uncertainty that is more or less an illusion.

    We believed in GOD all that while but we were told that our way of “Believing” was wrong and theirs right.. Truth is to this i dont know who is right.

    I had huge anticipation for how this post was gonna end. Thought you would end with a picSHur of you taking a dive into the pool giving us a chance to see Bikini boRRy :p et al.. But then Seeing how it ended broke me. Development is good Nne, but with it has come degradation of the things that matter, our rivers turn to lands and on it Houses now swim, our Seas turn the color of Mud or Oil.. my its sad.

    I cant talk any further Otunne, but this line hit me the most.. You knopw nah, the one that went;

    “most of them envied us for living close to the river and I envied them because I had never even gone to the river”

    and it had me thinking.. The irony of life huh?! Some envy us for what we have, and we inturn envy them for not having what we have. Amazingly strange how life is… This post is awesome… I havent read much all September yeah.. But this just struck Number 1. Cheers Nne. ehennn where is my Orange?!

    Reply

    1. Bikini wetin? Lol!
      I like how you brought in colonialism, one day I might write about it. As usual, you have left an epic comment here, one that has made me smile and think and think

      Reply

  4. Adaeze,

    You told it well, you’ve mastered the art of speaking eloquently with written-down words.

    I’m reminded of the Obosh river in my mother’s hometown and the delights it brought me as a young child.

    This thing that has happened to the Imo River is sad.

    On a lighter note, one would have had to have read at least one of Achebe’s and Elechi’s texts, to understand the full implication of this – “…a young man from another town came to the Iyi to have his bath. His body was rejected by the river two days later.” 🙂

    Reply

  5. So sad to read this! Sometimes I wish that our home towns or villages should be left the way they are. Pure, undiluted and beautiful. Just the other day, I was telling my dad not to demolish the house his father had built in the 40’s. Village life has been swallowed by civilization as very few villages can boast of rivers and stream, it’s either that they have dried up or it’s polluted. I always say that I’d love to marry into a village that still has some sort of ‘natural preservation’.
    You write so well dear.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

