15 for 15 challenge- The young and the confused.

Again I’m starting a blog post with Duru business.

Duru’s entry for the 15 for 15 challenge- Padre was about his dad. The post really touched me especially when he talked about his dad knowing when he’d done something wrong (the man must be psychic) and still correcting him in love. He went on to talk about the valuable lessons he’s learned from his dad and the wisdom his dad passes on to him on daily basis. And yes, there was the part about losing the house and his incredible faith then and now. In his words- “if we didn’t die when we lost the house, we can’t die again”.

I don’t really feel like writing anything today. I have loads of ideas though but the “ginger” to write isn’t there, I just want to sleep or something but I have to write today’s post as part of the challenge.

As I read his post, I kept wondering if our generation is truly ready for parenthood, for the sacrifice and dedication that is required to bring a child into this world, nurture him/her and mould that individual into a useful part of tomorrow’s world. I know we have wise young people, people with vision; but I fear that our lifestyles and penchant for instant gratification are not healthy ingredients in making tomorrow’s parents. The pressures of today’s workplace- with people spending more time at work than at home make me scared for the children of today and tomorrow. If you leave home at 5am and get home at 10pm, when will you have time to talk to your kids? To really get to know them, to build memories, when? When? When? Nonso’s (Duru) father can tell when his child (usually Nonso) has done something wrong when the child walks into the room, how can he tell? He knows his children, he’s watched them grow, and he’s been part of their lives…

Yesterday I saw a “today in history” post on Facebook, on the 30th of July 1975 Lt Col Muhammadu Buhari as he was then addressed became the governor of the North Eastern state. The “bloodless” coup that ousted Gen Yakubu Gowon had happened only two days before and as a reward for his participation in that coup, he was appointed governor. At the time, he was thirty-three years old… let that sink in.

At that time it was possible for a thirty-three year old to become the governor of a state that has become a whole geopolitical zone in today’s Nigeria. Before you tell me it was during the military era, how old was Obafemi Awolowo when he became the premier of the western region? How old was Anthony Enahoro when he moved the motion for independence? How old was Gen Yakubu Gowon when he became military head of state?

Unfortunately the constitution of the federal republic of Nigeria imposes age limits on electoral offices, remember the Salisu Buhari scandal? In today’s Nigeria, neither General Buhari nor Gen Gowon could have held office at those points in their lives and we wouldn’t have benefited from their vigorous approaches to government.

However an essential question must be asked… where are the Nigerian youths? If we amend the constitution to allow youths contest for certain positions, where would we find the kind of youths that can solve our myriad problems and take us where we need to be? Are they the ones on twitter asking if feminists impregnate their husbands? Or the ones who’s only waking thoughts are the lyrics to Wizkid or Davido’s latest hits? Who will we send? Who will go for us?

I think there’s hope though but we need to put in effort in making our youth politically conscious, to make them aware of the road we have to tread to bring greatness to our nation and ourselves. We might be young and confused but we don’t have to be stupid too. Let’s channel that confusion into learning about the systems that the so called developed countries have used to make their countries great, let’s study their policies and not just their celebrities, let’s adopt their manuals and not just their fashion. We can do it, yes we can!

Today’s the last day in July and I wanna be the first to wish y’all a blissful August. After December (my birth month- start buying my birthday gifts now to avoid Christmas rush), my favourite month was August. I loved August because there was no school for a whole month (I loved school… don’t get it twisted) and I got to rest from all the academic work and all. Luckily for us, summer school wasn’t on my parents minds and we got a full break.

Enough of the long talk… Hasta la vista.

13 Comments

  1. First, I must commend you on the new look of this blog… It is becoming more reader friendly. You are getting there Mami.

    I like the part were you said we might be young and confused doesn’t mean that we should be stupid too. We the youths need to take the initiative and do all we can to improve ourselves so that we can get things right for the sake of our now and especially our future. Our society, leaders, parents and guardians may have fail us in many ways, but we can’t keep blaming them – we should take the bull by the horn learn from history and act right.

    Its a big challenge for our tomorrow…but if we keep up on this orientation, then we probably would get it right and also have time to guide the generations coming after us.

    Cheers to the likes of Duru’s father…they are our true heroes.

    Reply

    1. Lol @ new look! Thanks for pushing- yes, pushing! me in that direction.
      I hope we get it right as young people, we might have many excuses to continue to wallow in the wilderness but we have more reasons to get it right. It starts with us.

      Reply

  2. My oh My!!! Ada… I just cannot get enough of you… I mean you are literally new everyday… I mean How are you are so smart yet so amazing?! I am awed by How you touch every facet of human life… I just cannot say it well enough Otunne… but you are 1 in 10 million…

    Thank you so much for this post… I mean you always put me on a pedestal that clearly makes me confirm that truly truly yeah… #ItcanonlybeGOD

    Shout out to http://www.janylbenylshares.com for lighting the match stick that set our confusions on Fire… Mama is the besetest… Nne Who will we send?!That’s a very ghen ghen kweshion… a very good one… But I put it to you that there are US… You and I… Young folks poised to make a change but subdued by the preaching of caution from our Parents… There are US too scared to speak and end up without a political/Governement appointment… There are US… afraid of being Labelled Stupid for biting the hands that will attempt to feed us bribe…

    Nne the Tides are changing… The youths are awaking… We will not be subdued forever… Ada, please don’t be offended eh, but do you know Debola Williams and Chude Jiedonwo?! They are 29 and 30 respectively yeah… and when it feels like all hope is lost for my Generation… I look at them both and my hope is rekindled instantly like Indomie Noodles… Or Pap as it forms…

    Thank you for keeping the challenge alive… You bring a perspective that no one else brings to the table… heheheh ya kuku like the Curry in the Jollof rice… **winks… and the crowd goes Oooooosssshhhheeeey Turn uP.

    Reply

    1. I know Chude and Debola… but that’s the problem! In a country of at least 50 million people under the age of thirty, ten or twenty bright lights is miniscule. For those of us who live in urban centers especially Abuja and Lagos, the percentage of sensitised youths isn’t that bad. However it’s the youths in the rural areas that stir my heart, the ones who do not have a Chude to look up to, the ones who have truly become hopeless.

      Reply

  3. …My oh My!!! Ada… I just cannot get enough of you… I mean you are literally new everyday… I mean How are you are so smart yet so amazing?! I am awed by How you touch every facet of human life… I just cannot say it well enough Otunne… but you are 1 in 10 million…

    Thank you so much for this post… I mean you always put me on a pedestal that clearly makes me confirm that truly truly yeah… #ItcanonlybeGOD

    Shout out to http://www.janylbenylshares.com for lighting the match stick that set our confusions on Fire… Mama is the besetest… Nne Who will we send?!That’s a very ghen ghen kweshion… a very good one… But I put it to you that there are US… You and I… Young folks poised to make a change but subdued by the preaching of caution from our Parents… There are US too scared to speak and end up without a political/Governement appointment… There are US… afraid of being Labelled Stupid for biting the hands that will attempt to feed us bribe…

    Nne the Tides are changing… The youths are awaking… We will not be subdued forever… Ada, please don’t be offended eh, but do you know Debola Williams and Chude Jiedonwo?! They are 29 and 30 respectively yeah… and when it feels like all hope is lost for my Generation… I look at them both and my hope is rekindled instantly like Indomie Noodles… Or Pap as it forms…

    Thank you for keeping the challenge alive… You bring a perspective that no one else brings to the table… heheheh ya kuku like the Curry in the Jollof rice… **winks… and the crowd goes Oooooosssshhhheeeey Turn uP.

    Reply

  4. And i keep asking myself why the young at heart and body cannot become the president of this nation? But is that the only place we can impact the nation and society? i know we can, we have the platform not necessarily in the political sphere but in any corner we find ourselves; in the corporate places, in the business world and religious organization, etc

    Reply

    1. I agree that we can make positive change in other spheres but in our political landscape, the youths have been silent. It is beyond important for youth to join the policy makers because the decisions of these guys affect us all.

      Reply

  5. We don’t know our history, that’s why. If we did, we would know who we are, where we are coming from and where we are going to.
    How many people know that fact about Buhari?
    How many people know of Damien Anyawu who developed the nation’s first private radio station – Radio Mbaise – powered by herbs?

    The youth of today are just as intelligent, resilient and savvy as those that went before them but…and there is a huge but…what is their driving force?

    Reply

    1. Wow! Didn’t know about Damien and Radio Mbaise!
      You hit the nail on the head! What’s the driving force? For most of us it’s making money and living the kardashian life- I respect those women for being able to spin an empire from practically nothing, but we don’t even acknowledge their struggle/hustle. We have so much to offer! Imagine an Okechukwu Ofili as the minister of finance and budget planning for example, that guy would turn our economy around. There are several others like that who have the ideas and might be willing to serve.
      If our priorities are straight, and we’re willing to make the right sacrifices, we might get there.
      Ehen! I’ve noticed the reduced flow of stories, should I reactivate stalk mode?

      Reply

  6. 🙂 🙂 🙂

    No stalking mode, biko.

    Nwanne gi is just trying to put food on the table…too many hands pulling from all sides, das all.

    I cannot stop writing…it’s .impossicant’ but sometimes, there are challenges that obstruct the flow…sad but true.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

