Month O’ love: Written In The Stars

Yesterday I put up one of my absolute favourite love songs, today I’m also putting up another Adaeze’s absolute favourite love songs.

I’ve talked about my love-hate relationship with Westlife here on the blog, I hate the fact that a lot of their hits are copies and that most of my classmates in secondary school were crazy about them. Beatlemania had nothing on those girls, they’d gather their chairs, form a circle and start belting out Westlife songs. It was a most annoying experience. I like/love Westlife original songs and today’s song is one of them.

  Apart from the fact that it’s an original Westlife song, it also reminds me of one of the most perfect nights of my life. You know, that kind of night when you’re young, in love and invulnerable. Anyway I first heard the song in Ekosodin- one of the towns surrounding Uniben and where I lived for six years. That evening was magical in a way I can’t explain without sounding incredibly sappy but I’d just say we were waiting for our suya to get ready and a shop nearby was blaring the song on their speaker and my normally “unmushy” boyfriend sang the song to me.

  That memory still makes me smile and even though he’d deny it if you asked (that guy always wanted to appear macho), it’s one of my favourite memories of our time together.

“Written In The Stars”

[Shane:]
Stay with me
Don’t fall asleep too soon
The angels can wait for a moment

Come real close
Forget the world outside
Tonight we’re alone
It’s finally you and I
It wasn’t meant to feel like this
Not without you

[All:]
Cos when I look at my life
How the pieces fall into place
It just wouldn’t rhyme without you
When I see how my path
Seem to end up before your face
The state of my heart
The place where we are
Was written in the stars

[Bryan:]
Don’t be afraid
I’ll be right by your side
Through the laughter and pain
Together we’re bound to fly
I wasn’t meant to love like this
Not without you

[All:]
Cos when I look at my life
How the pieces fall into place
It just wouldn’t rhyme without you
When I see how my path
Seem to end up before your face
The state of my heart
The place where we are
Was written in the stars

[Mark:]
I made a few mistakes, yeah

[Shane:]
Like sometimes we do

[Mark:]
Been through lot of heartache
But I made it back to you

[All:]
Cos when I look at my life
How the pieces fall into place
It just wouldn’t rhyme without you
And when I see how my path
Seem to end up before your face
The state of my heart
The place where we are
Was written in the stars

[All:]
When I look at my life
How the pieces fall into place
It just wouldn’t rhyme without you
When I see how my path
Seem to end up before your face
The state of my heart
The place where we are
Was written in the stars

[Shane:]
The state of my heart
The place where we are
Was written in the stars

Today’s the birthday of my twinnie and one of my best friends- Arinze. Happy birthday my darling, may this new year bring you answered prayers, joy and peace.

Leave a Reply

