Month O’ love: In your eyes

   George Benson is one of my favourite artists, I love how he straddles  R&B, Soul and Jazz, which are coincidentally my favourite music genres. I guess you can say he hits my triple G-spots 😉

George’s music was part of the soundtrack to my childhood, I loved “Give me the night”, “Nothing’s gonna change my love for you”, “never give up on a good thing”- that one always makes me smile when I listen to it, “midnight masquerade” from which a certain Nigerian female singer lifted substantial portions of her song, I hope she got permission because the lifting was beyond blatant. He came to Nigeria a few years ago but I didn’t know about the concert until the day after, I wept like a baby. My favourite George Benson song is “In your eyes”

“In your eyes” is my absolute favourite love song, although to be fair I have about ten absolute favourite love songs. However “In your eyes” is perhaps the only song I can sing to Le boo on our wedding day. Heck! I can’t marry anybody I don’t feel every darn thing in that song for. I really wish George Benson would sing it at my wedding, my soprano ain’t doing the song justice.

“In Your Eyes”
I think I finally know you
I can see beyond your smile
I think that I can show you
That what we have is still worthwhile
Don’t you know that love’s just like the thread
That keeps unravelling but then
It ties us back together in the end

[Chorus:]
In your eyes, I can see my dream’s reflections
In your eyes, found the answers to my questions
In your eyes, I can see the reasons why our love’s alive
In your eyes, we’re drifting safely back to shore
And I think I’ve finally learned to love you more

You warned me that life changes
That no one really knows
Whether time would make us strangers
Or whether time would make us grow
Even though the winds of time will change
In a world where nothing stays the same
Through it all our love will still remain

[Chorus]

In your eyes, I can see the reasons why our love’s alive
You and I, we’re drifting safely back to shore
And I think I’ve finally learned to love you more
oooooohhhhhh

  I’m still romantic! I thought I’d squelched most of my romantic tendencies. Oh well! I guess I’ll go back to the squelching board.

The weather here is rather cool, it’s been drizzling all morning and my bed has been making some seductive moves… I’m trying my best to resist. Whatever way you choose to spend today, ensure you make the most of it.
Hasta la vista *in my terminator voice*

Leave a Reply

