Month O’love: A whole new world

  I love Disney cartoons! The older cartoons get me every time, I’m not so sure about the newer ones although I liked frozen, really liked it. One of my favourite cartoons of all time is Aladdin. Everything about that cartoon… I love!

From the irrepressible Genie to the bubbly Aladdin and romantic Jazmine to Jafar… yes I love his evilness! He made evil cool… (that should be a bad thing right?) Aladdin was a treasure trove for me and it’s one of my top five cartoons, my favourite cartoon is Mulan, she totally kicked a—.

One beautiful thing about Disney is their songs, they have the best songs on their cartoons. Long after you’ve watched the cartoon, the songs still bring giddy feelings. Today’s song is one of my favourite songs ever! It’s not even because it’s a love song, I just love it.

A Whole New World
Aladdin: I can show you the world
Shining, shimmering, splendid
Tell me, princess, now when did
You last let your heart decide?

Aladdin: I can open your eyes
Take you wonder by wonder
Over, sideways and under
On a magic carpet ride

Aladdin: A whole new world
A new fantastic point of view
No one to tell us no or where to go
Or say we’re only dreaming

Princess Jasmine: A whole new world
A dazzling place I never knew
But when I’m way up here, it’s crystal clear
That now I’m in a whole new world with you

Aladdin: (Now I’m in a whole new world with you)

Princess Jasmine: Unbelievable sights
Indescribable feelings
Soaring, tumbling, freewheeling
Through an endless diamond sky

Princess Jasmine: A whole new world
Aladdin: (Don’t you dare close your eyes)
Princess Jasmine: A hundred thousand things to see
Aladdin: (Hold your breath, it gets better)
Princess Jasmine: I’m like a shooting star
I’ve come so far
I can’t go back
To where I used to be

Aladdin: A whole new world
Princess Jasmine: Every turn a surprise
Aladdin: With new horizons to pursue
Princess Jasmine: Every moment red letter
Both: I’ll chase them anywhere
There’s time to spare
Let me share this whole new world with you

Aladdin: A whole new world
Princess Jasmine: A whole new world
Aladdin: That’s where we’ll be
Princess Jasmine: That’s where we’ll be
Aladdin: A thrilling chase
Princess Jasmine: A wondrous place
Both: For you and me

7 Comments

  1. This song hyped my expectancy of what to expect from relationships. Sometimes the whole new world is a good one, sometimes its a bad one. But guaranteed you will see a whole new world!

    Reply

    1. Very true! But I’ve heard enough love songs, read too much romances to expect so much out of love. I mean, look at the guys who write the songs, do they have stable love lives?
      You’re right about love being a whole new world, I pray to find a wonderful one

      Reply

  2. Awwwggghhh otunne, this was such a ghen ghen and interesting read.. And singing to the tunes brought back fond memories… although i dont remember the lyrics being so technical oh! Maybe its cause i bit my lips a lot back then and hummed through parts i didnt know **Covers face.. :).. One thing i so love about the cartoon is the melody that came with the song.. its evergreen Bubba.. Ever green aswear :)Now i sooooo loved Jafar.. he kinda reminds me of Despicable me.. heheh and then the Djinee was just bad ass frosh like that.. Mehn Ada we grew up at the right time.. You know the Renaissance time of growing up.. Now this line hit me the most Bubba..

    “I’ve come so far
    I can’t go back
    To where I used to be”

    And truly Otunne.. behind me are the depressing days.. and insha Allah yeah, ahead of me is love and laughter so much i will forever forget the past.. Thank you for making me remember the good old days. **Smiles like a 7 year old 🙂

    Reply

    1. That song was and is still dope! I’m glad I’m not the only one who loved Jafar, I was beginning to think I wasn’t normal.
      We definitely grew up at the right time mi darling.
      Amazingly that’s also my favourite part of the song! No going back to the hurt!

      Reply

  3. A Whole New World by Peabo Bryson and Regina Belle!
    Epic!
    My favourite Disney film is The Prince of Egypt probably because it makes the story of Moses and Ramases readily accessible.
    You see Ramases as human rather than this evil Pharaoh that was irredeemable; you see how hubris can be a man’s downfall.

    Reply

  4. I love this! I didn’t watch the cartoon much but I read the full Aladdin novel and this is one of the best soundtracks I’ve ever heard. Thanks for sharing the lyrics and reminding me of the beauty of “fairy tale” love.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

