Month O’ love: Kuchi kuchi

Babies! hard to find anyone who doesn’t love ’em. Today’s entry is all about my babies, yes you read right.

There’s a song that makes the people in my life think of me whenever they hear it, the song has been my ringtone since 2010 when my dad bought me a Sony walkman phone, (he gave me the money and I bought it, my dad knows zilch about phones, give him a dependable nokia phone and he’s happy) I miss that phone! it was so cute! it was a black slide phone that just packed up on its sixth month anniversary. Nothing happened to it, someone called and we spoke for thirty seconds or so. I ended the call and was about to slide it back when the screen turned black and that was the end of the phone. The price of the repair was almost equal to the worth of the phone and the repairer wasn’t even sure it would work…

 

Back to the song; although I’ve changed my ringtone a few times to reflect my phase- I had “O set” by Phyno and “ghost mode” by Phyno and Olamide when I was in my naija hiphop phase and other songs too but very briefly. My main ringtone has always been Kuchi kuchi by J’Odie.

 

I remember where I was the first time I heard the song in full, I’d heard snatches of it around Uniben and didn’t think it was a real song because Kuchi kuchi is an Indian endearment. I even called my youngest brother “Itty Bitty, Kuchi kuchi”. On my way back from Benin, just as we were passing Redemption Camp, Wazobia fm played the song. It was love at first listen for me.

 

I don’t have biological children yet, but I have five babies who hold large portions of my heart. This song is for them.

Ikenna Chibuzor Ezenwa, my first baby, little brother and best friend
image

image

Enyichukwu Ufomadu, my one and only godchild
image

 

Ngozi Nwaoguala, my second-cousin who’s almost four years old and we seem to share a bond as old as time
image

image

 

Christian whose birthday was yesterday
image

 

Finally, my blog son Egwumba Ugochukwu (yes there’s such a thing as blog mother and blog son, ask Duru) who’s all the shades of fabulous and all the hues of amazing. I’m going to do a full blog post on him soon, very soon
image

image
This pose is not as ‘selzy’ as I’d thought


Kuchi Kuchi (Oh Baby)

Oh baby
Oh baby
Oh baby
When I wake up wake up in the morning
I see your lovely face
your cheeks like butter honey from attica
you take my breath away
your pretty little fingers so tender like petals from the morning bloom.
your laughter a joy to remember,  heaven has blessed me with you.
The very day came to me
my whole life became brand new eh eh
Because of you eh eh
oh baby, oh baby
i see me in your eyes
oh baby, oh baby
i see love in your smile
you tell me kuchi, kuchi ahhhhh
l understand
you tell me kuchi kuchi ahhh

Oh baby, Oh baby
Kuchi, kuchi ahhh
Oh baby, Oh baby
Kuchi, kuchi ahhh
Oh baby, my baby
Kuchi, kuchi ahhh
oh baby,pretty baby
kuchi kuchi ahhh

In the middle of the night I wake up
when I hear you cry, it seems something binds us together supernatural
I can hardy live a moment without you eh eh
Because of you eh eh
Oh baby, Oh baby
I see me in your eyes.
Oh baby, Oh baby
I see love in your smile.
You tell me kuchi kuchi ahhh
I understand
You tell me kuchi kuchi ahhh

Oh baby, Oh baby
Kuchi, kuchi ahhh
Eh
Oh baby, Oh baby
Kuchi, kuchi ahhh
Eh
Oh baby, my baby
Kuchi, kuchi ahhh
Oh my baby,pretty baby
kuchi kuchi ahhh

you make me cry, laughter is not enough.
I’ve seen true beauty because I see you
eh eh eh eh eh.

Oh baby, Oh baby
Kuchi, kuchi ahhh
Eh
Oh baby, Oh baby
Kuchi, kuchi ahhh
Eh
Oh baby, my baby
Kuchi, kuchi ahhh
oh my baby, pretty baby
kuchi kuchi ahhh

Oh baby, Oh baby
Kuchi, kuchi ahhh
Eh
Oh baby, Oh baby
Kuchi, kuchi ahhh
Eh
Oh baby, my baby
Kuchi, kuchi ahhh
oh my baby, pretty baby
kuchi kuchi ahhh

8 Comments

  1. Mami… this is a great prologue to the upcoming Blog Son blog post from you. Now my body is itching me plenty, can’t wait longer ooo… Kuchi kuchi.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

