Month O’ love: You decorated my life

Today’s the birthday of a very special person… it’s my baby’s birthday! I met Christian a year ago… in a way it’s our anniversary. All it took was one ridiculous picture… In that year he’s become confidante, big brother, voice of reason and treasured friend although I don’t think he’s forgiven me for missing his wedding. Most importantly he’s never complained about my sending him links to everything I’ve ever written, instead he’s supportive and extremely dependable.

  Today’s song is by Kenny Rogers, it’s one of my favourite KR songs and I’m dedicating it to Christian who’s added soooooo much colour and light to my life in more ways than one, who’s been there for me even when I wasn’t there for myself, who’s taught me the weirdest things and the best things, who’s shown me that love doesn’t need years and years and who’s made me better, much better for knowing him. Thanks for everything Chris, I love you beyond words, no words come close to saying what’s in my heart, maybe this song can express 0.00001%.

“You Decorated My Life”
All my life was a paper
Once plain, pure and white
Till you moved with your pen
Changing moods now and then
Till the balance was right
Then you added some music
Every note was in place
And anybody could see
All the changes in me
By the look on my face

And you decorated my life
Created a world where dreams are apart
And you decorated my life
By painting your love all over my heart
You decorated my life

Like a rhyme with no reason
And an unfinished song
There was no harmony
Life meant nothing to me
Until you came along
And you brought out the colors
What a gentle surprise
Now I’m able to see
All the things life can be
Shining soft in your eyes

And you decorated my life
Created a world where dreams are apart
And you decorated my life
By painting your love all over my heart
You decorated my life

Happy birthday Oko Faith

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

