Month O’ love : Nothing else matters

How can I compile a series of love songs without an entry from my first love? Kor possible (not possible). I’ve loved Lionel Richie even before I was born (true story) and I was singing along to his songs as soon as I could talk, (I wish my parents had exposed my prodigious gift, I’d have been a famous millionaire by now).

I could probably do this series with Lionel Richie’s songs alone! Truly, Stuck on you, My destiny, Ballerina girl, Deep river woman, I call it love, Three times a lady, You are, Angel, What you are, It may be the water… need I go on? Today’s song isn’t one of his popular hits but it’s one of my favourite LR songs. Nothing else matters was released in 1996 as part of the louder than words album.

Any time I listen to this song I picture a wedding, sometimes mine, sometimes someone else’s but the vision of a wedding never changes. It’s a slow song that’s perfect for the couple’s first dance. Funny thing is some of the weddings I’ve attended recently have made me wonder if romance is dead in Nigeria, have you seen couples dancing at their weddings? Man! They simply replicate club moves. I know the energetic dance steps ginger people into spraying more money but there’s a place for romantic, slow songs… it’s your wedding for Pete’s sake and not an extension of Rumours nightclub. You can at least have one slow song and just hold each other and sway… At last by Etta James would be perfect? Err maybe another song.

Anyway here’s today’s song… it’s superb trust me. You’d love it when you listen to it.

“Nothing Else Matters”
Do I love you?
Let me tell ya,
My mona lisa with a smile,
Knowing all that we’ve been through,
Together,
We’ve lasted for a while.
Hasn’t it been so easy?
But life can be that way,
You made all the mountains,
Seem so small.

’cause when there’s love,
True love,
Nothing else matters,
At all.

Those precious moments,
Are filled with so much tears and laughter;
Funny how the time does fly.
Was it all a plan,
Or some passing chances?
I won’t ask the reason why.
If I say I love you,
Let me tell you like it is,
Love you till the stars stars,
All start to fall.

’cause when there’s love,
True love,
Nothing else matters,
At all.

When I say I love you,
Let me tell you like it is,
Love you till the stars,
All start to fall.

Yes when there is love,
True love.

Yes when there is love,
True love.

Yes when there is love, true love;

Nothing else matters,
Nothing else matters,
Nothing else matters,
At all……

Yep! When there’s love, nothing else matters. Not money, not children, not ex-girlfriends, not sisters-in-law, not mothers-in-law… ok lemme run away before they break my head.

6 Comments

  1. I remember in those days when my older cousins used to do this thing where they would ‘Nigerianise’ African-American celebrities’ names; so Lionel Richie became Olariche Agu! Apparently, he was from Mbaise!
    I love me some Lionel Richie though, still have his cassette tape!

    Reply

  2. heheheheheh @Extension of Rumors night Club.. **Shouting Festac Yooooo!!!! **Calms Down.. Sorry I had to Represent 🙂 Hian! Otunne, the way they Rock at Weddings now ehnn Hian! Eeezz not a Joking sturvzz oh! Sometimes you would think it was a peep show sefr… hehehe… All in All i think Love is key… But i for one in my 23 years 4 months and 25 days utterly confused head like to see Love as a choice.. a choice between 2 people.. One that when is made should be respected GidigBam till the very end… Wow! Lionnel Richie is the shizzle Ada.. I am picshuring all those his Blues playing like videos in my head right now.. Sadly all those kind songs used to come and make Omolomo be angry at himself for being single **Crying in Spanish.. So Iyanya’s “your waist” best suffices for me now… **Shines teeth,… Cheers Bubba.. This post has me smiling like a fish.. and the crowd goes.. Oooossssshhhheeeey! Turn uP!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

