Chronicles of Enugu

   I wrote a blog post with this title on my phone, I spent two hours writing and uploading it and I got media error message. The result was that my post was wiped out, the truly annoying part was that the title and tags were intact.

My friend Chinwe (remember her?) was getting married traditionally in her hometown of Ozalla in Enugu state and I had to attend the joyous event. I travelled on holy Saturday and was there until Tuesday which was the day the wedding held. A couple of us followed her to Agulu (her husband’s hometown) and on Wednesday, I found my way to Benin and eventually made my way down to Lagos.

  One of the first things you’ll notice here is the stony soil… no kidding! The soil is made up medium to large sized pebbles, wearing stilettos or any type of high heeled shoe is almost a crime here. A crime to the shoes and to your feet, there’s also the very real danger of tripping on a stone and landing flat on your face.

image

It’s a wonder how anything grows here, my father says he’s seen growth in more deplorable conditions. I just had to take his word for it.

image

The plant life is not only surviving but thriving as well, remember those seeds that fell on stony ground in the parable of the sower (Mark chapter 4)? They didn’t grow because they didn’t want to. *in an African mother’s voice* the Enugu plants that grow and thrive don’t have two “heads”

image

Know what they are? Ridges for a cassava farm

image

Don’t know what tree that is, I love the flowers though.

image

#iwokeuplikethis #nomakeuppicture #flawless? 😉 I can’t remember why I had a wrapper on my shoulder on my way back from my morning stroll, I guess that will remain a great mystery.

image

   Looks like a nollywood scene right? I half expected Chinwetalu Agu to come out from the bushes and try to entice me with his money :-p

Tuesday came with dark clouds, fortunately they dispersed before the festivities began.

image

  Her first steps towards becoming a Mrs

image

  With Queen, our classmate and neighbour

image

  I had a mini makeover and I think I look very different.

image

The hiding groom, his smile was incandescent

image

The final rite

image

Ain’t love grand?

image

Classmates and neighbours, we lived in the same hostel in Ekosodin and were classmates, although Queen moved back to school after a year.

image

Chinwe’s brother and a “correct guy”, I’ve known him for years

image

Meet my sweethearts, Emma (in fuchsia pink) and Chukwuka. Before you label me short, I’ll have you know that Emma is 6″1 and Chukwuka is 6″7 (or even more). One of my bbm friends asked why I was half their heights, how is 5″6 half those heights biko nu?

After the wedding, we followed her to her husband’s house

image

   We were all exhausted.

image

A visit to Benin is not complete without Mat ice ice cream.

image

Homeward bound

image

Visiting Enugu was a pleasant experience, I was treated like a princess and almost lost my heart to a soft-spoken, dark and handsome young man. He inspired this story. I’m glad I’m home though, after all it is said “east or west, home is best”.

7 Comments

  1. Awwwww….you look beautiful…blue looks amazing you and that lil makeup you had on suits you….I see you all happy mami….Uhh the bride is pretty….she has a pretty smile.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

