Ancient hymns – forty days and forty nights.

   Last Wednesday was Ash Wednesday which is the day Christians all over the world observe as the beginning of lent. Lent is the period in the Christian calendar that commemorates the forty day fast that Jesus Christ undertook before he began his ministry. During this time believers are supposed to fast, practice self denial and charitable works, etc.

  One of the major features of lent is the austerity in the services, masses etc, ornamental objects are meant to be covered in purple cloth, joyous songs and ‘Alleluia’ are banned among other things. As expected, there are approved songs and order of service and holy communion for lent.

  Today’s song is the first lent song I ever learned, every lent my mum would sing the song almost daily. It was written by George Hunt Smyttan in 1856.

1 Forty days and forty nights
Thou wast fasting in the wild;
Forty days and forty nights
Tempted, and yet undefiled.

2 Shall not we Thy sorrow share,
And from earthly joys abstain,
Fasting with unceasing prayer,
Glad with Thee to suffer pain?

3 And if Satan vexing sore,
Flesh or spirit should assail,
Thou, his Vanquisher before,
Grant we may not faint or fail.

4 So shall we have peace divine;
Holier gladness ours shall be;
Round us, too, shall angels shine,
Such as minister’d to Thee.

5 Keep, O keep us, Saviour dear,
Ever constant by Thy side;
That with Thee we may appear
At th’ eternal Eastertide.

   Lent is a time of piety and self denial as I said earlier in this post and it’s a time for giving up the pleasures of this world.
That brings me to this questions-  Are you giving up anything for lent? If you aren’t,  what would you give up for lent?

Have a beautiful week yall.

7 Comments

    1. I haven’t made up my mind either, I was thinking of Coca Cola but I fell off the wagon on Sunday. In my defence, the coke was so cold and it was so hot 😉

      Reply

      1. Lolzxx see excuse
        Imagine if Jesus said ‘in my defence I was very hungry so I chose to turn the stones into bread’ kekekeke
        Anyway, you can still get on board. Its not too late

  1. Ossshhheeeyy! Our Otunne toh sure.. Dishing it out like its hot all time every time.. Mehn! You no go believe say: In as much as i am very Catholic yeah, i totally did not realize i was too give up something oh! I mean **Thinking.. What can I give up ohhhhh! I would have given up pursuing woman ehn, but that will be me just plain deceiving my self, so I will just think up something.. Nice one Ada, i admire and even jealous your consistency.. Mehn Bubba, can I be like you when I grow up mbok?! Cheers Bubba and be safe.. and the crowd goess.. yyyeeeaaahh mehn!

    Reply

    1. Consistency? This my bubba is making me laugh like a hyena. You blog every monday, week in, week out. But wait o, I thought you’d given up your woman chasing ways.

      Reply

  2. **peaks in** Yup I know it’s been a while…How are you mami….you know, I didn’t know it was Ash wednesday until I saw Tasha’s photo on IG…lol…..My head is packed mehn!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

