Ancient hymns- Lord thy word abideth

  I’ll start with a confession- I didn’t go to church today. I’ve been struggling with my health and had a monumental shock yesterday, I couldn’t summon the energy to leave my bed before 10:00 am. Now that’s out of the way, we’ll explore another hymn.

image


   Last week, I talked about how my Anglican background influenced my love for hymns and the sense of timelessness I get from those songs. Today’s song was one the songs we sang that day and I loved the message the song contained. The power in the word of God that has remained the same for all time, his assurances can be “taken to the bank” and his love is ever sure.

  This song was written by Henry W Baker in 1861 and set to music by William H Monk also in 1861, the tune is Ave herarchia composed in 1531. It’s another timeless classic- Lord thy word abideth.

Lord, Thy Word abideth,
And our footsteps guideth;
Who its truth believeth
Light and joy receiveth.

When our foes are near us,
Then Thy Word doth cheer us,
Word of consolation,
Message of salvation.

When the storms are o’er us,
And dark clouds before us,
Then its light directeth,
And our way protecteth.

Who can tell the pleasure,
Who recount the treasure,
By Thy Word imparted
To the simple hearted?

Word of mercy, giving
Succor to the living;
Word of life, supplying
Comfort to the dying!

O that we, discerning,
Its most holy learning,
Lord, may love and fear Thee,
Evermore be near Thee!

May his words bring us life everlasting in Jesus victorious name.

One Comment

  1. Uhhhh…mami, I own a hymn book you know, I walked into a bookshop one day (few years back) and after looking for a particular book that I needed for a project and couldn’t find it, I decided to go to the christian corner and I bought a hymn book. I am familiar with this hymn…Nice…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

