Timehop to Abeokuta

   I have this app on my tablet which shows your activities on a particular day for previous years culled from various social media accounts and your phone gallery. It’s called timehop and I like it a lot, my thoughts and images from the past coming to the fore.  Today’s reminder came with a flood of pictures, on this day last year, I went to Olumo rock.

I’d always wanted to blog about my Olumo rock visit but somehow I haven’t felt fired up to do it. So I’ll just put up pictures and let them tell the story. This is a picture laden post, the pictures may not load immediately for my nigerian readers.

image

The first picture I took in Abeokuta

image

The first level

image

Resting place of a warrior
image
War shelter

image

image
image

In the hideout, with a comfy pair of slippers
image

Being guided through a tricky slope

image
Close to the top… The view shows how densely populated this part of Abeokuta is

image
Ancient cemetery

image

One of the routes to the top, a claustrophobic and acrophobic nightmare. I passed on the offer, thank you very much

image

Can’t remember the name of this tree, it’s pretty long and it’s sad to have medicinal and even magical properties

There’s a shrine there, and no I didn’t take any picture of it. You could “make a wish” as my tour guide put it and throw money inside, voilà! Your wish is granted. I remember smiling at them and thinking that the Christianity method of sowing seeds has gotten here too. One day I’m going to write about sowing seeds as is popular in Nigerian Christianity. Why must you give money? Can’t you sow by other methods eg your time? Why must you sow it in the church? Can’t you give to the needy? In fact I think I’ll start writing that post now.

image
Started from the bottom, now we here… lol!
image

I think this is an iroko too
image

Sing Dbanj’s I’m on top of the world, feeling like Leonardo Di Caprio

image

View from the left
image
View from the right… The difference is 7-up

image

My tour guide’s apprentice, he’s mute, he can hear though but can communicate effectively. He can work a gadget like no man’s business, I didn’t have to show him how to adjust any of the settings for pictures on my tab, he instinctively knew what I wanted and what the picture needed. In a better world, this boy should be doing high level tech things.
image

The oldest church in Abeokuta is somewhere in that picture, my zoom is just 5x
image

image

image

image

Of course I took selfies… what were you thinking before? I love Nigerian English!

image

See my humongous arms… I should be a wrestler. I’m wasting my talent

image

For those of us who had our primary education here, this picture should be familiar. Macmillian primary English course book 4 had a story about a visit to the rock. This view was used when Agbo went to Olumo rock.
image

image

Pouting like Hero. That my friend can pout!
image

Back to the bottom… I wasn’t that tired
image
image

I had a friend who was rounding off her internship in Abeokuta at the time, we were supposed to do the climb together but she dodged like the artful dodger. On leaving the tourist site, I went to see her in the salon
image

She’ll kill me when she sees this
image

Lunch fit for Queens. Queen Esther made this for Queen Adaeze. Lemme let you in on a secret… ripe plantain is my favourite food, yes I had to specify that it has to be ripe, I actively dislike unripe plantains. I love plantains in any format, boiled, fried, roasted. As long as ripe plantains are involved, I’m game. So when I come and visit you, yes you! There’ll be none of that rice business, plantains all the way.

Where there are two women and a camera, what do you expect?
image
image

image

I’ve known Esther since December 2005 (babes our tenth anniversary go shele very soon, like play, like play) she’s been roommate, classmate, friend and sister. She’s multi talented, can sew, bake, make jewellery, one of the best cooks I know and I know several amazing chefs, very passionate about pharmacy, a wonderful singer, she’s very funny- you can’t be with her and be sad and an inspirational woman of God. If I’d been a man, I’d have married her long ago even in my broke state. We’d drink garri together and tell our children how we built our empire from scratch. Her birthday is in two days
image

In uniben, photographers would ask you to do the most awkward poses for them, I usually refused. If you can’t take my picture without my contorting like a lizard with diarrhoea then forget it.
image
Trust me this is one of the simpler poses.
Esther please don’t kill me, if you kill me then I won’t buy you the helicopter I promised for your birthday.
image

image

Didn’t want to go home but I had to.

I got home very late that day but it was worth it.

6 Comments

    1. **hit the brakes** I read helicopter somewhere!!!…**claps hands** Adaezenwa!!!…where is my private jet??…**feels faint** the doctor told me to take it easy you know, he said, I need lots of rest buh this ‘helicopter’ information??…**faints** ……

      Reply

Leave a Reply

