Gizdodo according to Dooney

I love flitting from one food blog to another, from baking blogs to Nigerian food blogs. Along the way I’ve discovered a number of fantastic blogs along the way. However my runaway favourite is dooney’s kitchen, she makes cooking so simple and so much fun.

I decided to try one of her dishes, the popular gizdodo, I decided to try it with prawns first for the following reasons. One, I’m not very adaptable when it comes to new food. Two, I love prawns and would enjoy them under any circumstances. Three, I had prawns at home already. My friend Patrick bought them for me from shoprite Ikeja and I wasn’t in the frame of mind to make Chinese fried rice or prawn in dragon sauce which are my go-to prawn dishes.

The prawn-dodo was absolutely delicious, even my mom liked it and she’s even more unadaptable to new food than her only daughter. With that I had the boldness to make gizdodo.

My cousin was coming to Lagos on Friday and I decided to make gizdodo for her. On my way back from the bank and the market where I went to get ingredients, I was nearly robbed at gun point. This happened between 3pm and 3:30 pm, yes in broad daylight, in Aguda- Surulere. I’ll post the story here soon, as soon as I stop having “daymares” about it.I got home and started cooking, I’m really glad I had a culinary project. It helped me get over the initial trauma of having a gun pointed at me.

The recipe is available here, I’m not putting up the recipe here. I’m only going to share a few pictures from my kitchen.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

It was delicious but the prawn-dodo was better received by mummy and me. My dad and my cousin thought it was nice. I can positively call it a hit, abi beeko?

On Saturday all the females in the house trooped to Balogun market to buy things for my cousin and we were throughly drenched by ferocious rain that day.

image

    Pre-market selfie

I’ve been having issues with my phone and tablet this month and I had to do data backup and retrieval a number of times. During one of the sessions I came across a picture I’d forgotten about, an awesome picture taken at a book reading in Surulere. A picture of me and one of my heroes *this is where Hero does the eye rolling thing*. None other than Okechukwu Ofili of http://www.ofilispeaks.com

image

See how we complement each other 😉

I haven’t followed up on my favourite songs series, hopefully I’ll post something by tomorrow. In other news, I got invited by a blogger to contribute to a series she’d be running on her blog. I’m really excited about it, not because I think it’s a validation of my writing. I still have a long way to go on the writing thing but because it’s an opportunity for me work with a specified topic and with a deadline. I’m a free spirit when it comes to writing and would usually wait for inspiration to hit. I’m hoping this will help me adapt to a more disciplined schedule. Wish me luck, mi amigos.

Leave a Reply

