My favourite songs // Songs I like episode 8

Have you ever ended a romantic relationship? How did you feel back then? Sometimes it can be terrible, sometimes fantastic. I’m not the type to sit and moon over a failed relationship, moving on is usually easier for me. Though I don’t believe in “soldier go, soldier come”, my thoughts are- you just have to cheer up and bounce back.

Today’s songs deal with the angst that comes with a break up and of course moving on. There are soooo many songs on that subject and I’ll be putting up a few. The first song is Cher’s come back hit ‘believe’, the song responsible for the birth of autotune.

“Believe”
After love, after love [repeat]
No matter how hard I try
You keep pushing me aside
And I can’t break through
There’s no talking to you
So sad that you’re leaving
Takes time to believe it
But after all is said and done
You’re going to be the lonely one, Ohh Oh

[CHORUS:]
Do you believe in life after love
I can feel something inside me say
I really don’t think you’re strong enough,
Now
Do you believe in life after love
I can feel something inside me say
I really don’t think you’re strong enough,
Now

What am I supposed to do
Sit around and wait for you
And I can’t do that
There’s no turning back
I need time to move on
I need love to feel strong
‘Cause I’ve had time to think it through
And maybe I’m too good for you Ohh Oh

[CHORUS]
But I know that I’ll get through this
‘Cause I know that I am strong
I don’t need you anymore
Oh I don’t need you anymore I don’t need you anymore
No I don’t need you anymore
[CHORUS repeat to fade]

This song has been there for me through many sad times, not necessarily break ups though. I can listen to Believe over and over. The next song is No more the fool by Elkie Brooks. From her voice to the lyrics you can sense the anger over being foolish and her determination to be stronger.

No more the fool- Elkie Brooks
Just why I stayed around?
When all I found was heartache
I believed your every word
Didn’t know the hurt and pain that you’d make

But why did it take so long?
At last now I’ve seen the light
I’ve found the heart to say

No more the fool who waits around
Waiting for you to bring me down
Those days are gone now
No more the nights, lying awake
Crying and waiting for the day to break

No more the sound
As my dreams fall and hit the ground
While I wait around
No more the fool

You thought I’d break, then you were wrong
That I won’t see what’s going on
But I knew, here I am, I’m alive
And you see I’ll survive without you
And I won’t be the one who’ll come running
It ain’t like it used to be
It’s your turn to run to me

No more the fool who waits around
Waiting for you to bring me down
Those days are gone now
No more the nights, lying awake
Crying and waiting for the day to break
No more the sound
As my dreams fall and hit the ground
While I wait around
No more the fool

All the nights I waited for you to call
I waited for a sign that you would stay
But it’s so clear you didn’t care at all

No more the fool
No more the fool who waits around
No more the fool, no more the clown
No more the fool
No more the sight, no more the sound
As my dreams fall
And hit the ground
No more the fool

No more the fool who waits around
Waiting for you to bring me down
Those days are gone now
No more the nights, lying awake
Crying and waiting for the day to break

No more the sound
As my dreams fall and hit the ground
While I wait around
No more the fool

I had so many ideas for songs to feature here, trust me there are many songs about love gone sour. However I try not to exceed four songs per episode. Bearing that in mind we move on to Lionel Richie’s classic ‘sail on’. By now you should know Lionel Richie is my first love, I started listening to him in the womb and loved his songs before I knew what music was. Long before I knew what this song was about I had liked it, knowing what it’s about… I love it. You’ve come to realise the relationship is over despite all you put in and you’ve let go and you just want to be free.

“Sail On”
Sail on, down the line
About half a mile or so
And I don’t really wanna know ah
Where you’re going
Maybe once or twice you see
Time after time I tried
Hold on to what we got
But now you’re going

And I don’t mind
About the things you’re gonna say Lord,
I gave all my money and my time
I know it’s a shame
But I’m giving you back your name

Guess I’ll be on my way
I won’t be back to stay
I guess I’ll move along
I’m looking for a good time

Sail on down the line
Ain’t it funny how the time can go
All my friends say they told me so
But it doesn’t matter
It was plain to see
That a small town boy like me
Just I wasn’t your cup of tea
I was wishful thinking

I gave you my heart
And I tried to make you happy
And you gave me nothing in return
You know it ain’t so hard to say
Would you please just go away

I’ve thrown away the blues
I’m tired of being used
I want everyone to know
I’m looking for a good time
Good time

Sail on honey
Good times never felt so good
Sail on honey
Good times never felt so good
Sail on sugar
Good times never felt so good
Sail on

How can I have a post breakup song compilation without the anthem? The number one song for surviving heartbreak and moving on… Of course it’s Gloria Gaynor’s classic and signature song I will survive.

“I Will Survive”
At first I was afraid
I was petrified
Kept thinking I could never live
without you by my side
But then I spent so many nights
thinking how you did me wrong
And I grew strong
And I learned how to get along
and so you’re back
from outer space
I just walked in to find you here
with that sad look upon your face
I should have changed that stupid lock
I should have made you leave your key
If I had known for just one second
you’d be back to bother me

Go on now go walk out the door
just turn around now
’cause you’re not welcome anymore
weren’t you the one who tried to hurt me with goodbye
Did you think I’d crumble
Did you think I’d lay down and die
Oh no, not I
I will survive
Oh as long as I know how to love
I know I will stay alive
I’ve got all my life to live
I’ve got all my love to give
and I’ll survive
I will survive (hey-hey)

It took all the strength I had
not to fall apart
kept trying hard to mend
the pieces of my broken heart
and I spent oh so many nights
just feeling sorry for myself
I used to cry
But now I hold my head up high
and you see me
somebody new
I’m not that chained up little person
still in love with you
and so you felt like dropping in
and just expect me to be free
and now I’m saving all my loving
for someone who’s loving me

Go on now go walk out the door
just turn around now
’cause you’re not welcome anymore
weren’t you the one who tried to break me with goodbye
Did you think I’d crumble
Did you think I’d lay down and die
Oh no, not I
I will survive
Oh as long as I know how to love
I know I will stay alive
I’ve got all my life to live
I’ve got all my love to give
and I’ll survive
I will survive
[x2]

And that’s it folks!

One Comment

Leave a Reply

