My favourite songs // Songs I like episode 5b

A friend asked me to put up the lyrics of The sweetest taboo, since I’m a very nice person and can’t say no to him- he’s that fantastic. I’d put it here as well as other Sade songs I like

“The Sweetest Taboo”
If I tell you
If I tell you now
Will you keep on
Will you keep on loving me
If I tell you
If I tell you how I feel
Will you keep bringing out the best in me
You give me, you give me the sweetest taboo
You give me, you’re giving me the sweetest taboo
Too good for me

There’s a quiet storm
And it never felt like this before
There’s a quiet storm
That is you
There’s a quiet storm
And it never felt this hot before
Giving me something that’s taboo
(Sometimes I think you’re just too good for me)

You give me the sweetest taboo
That’s why I’m in love with you
You give me the sweetest taboo
Sometimes I think you’re just too good for me

I’d do anything for you, I’d stand out in the rain
Anything you want me to do, don’t let it slip away

There’s a quiet storm
And it never felt like this before
There’a a quiet storm
I think it’s you
There’a a quiet storm
And I never felt this hot before
Giving me something that’s taboo

You give me the sweetest taboo
That’s why I’m in love with you
You give me, you’re giving me the sweetest taboo
Too good for me

You’ve got the biggest heart
Sometimes I think you’re just too good for me
Every day is Christmas, and every night is new years eve

Will you keep on loving me
Will you keep on, will you keep on
Bringing out the best in me

I once saw an article on baby making songs -the article said baby making not sex, I’m not trying to be prudish. This song was in the top three, it’s so smooth and soulful that it should have been number one. What do you think the song is talking about? Went to Google and saw so many bizarre theories. Human beings and their imagination! Would I like to feel this way about anyone? As romantic as the song sounds, I wouldn’t want to feel like my significant other is too good for me. I’ve worked too hard to get to the point where I believe I’m good enough to get what I want, I can’t undo that hard work. Funny enough, yesterday I was accused of being too full of myself by someone  who has been actively getting on my wrong side for years. Will probably fictionalise the experience soon and put up a sizzling story here.
I’d modify the lyrics from ‘too good for me’ to ‘good enough for you’ and maybe one day we’ll find that sweetest taboo in each other- you know who you are 😉
The next song is my favourite Sade Adu song, everything about the song I like. The lyrics bring to mind bad boys and why girls like them, and the guy in this song is the baddest!

“Smooth Operator”
He’s laughing with another girl
And playing with another heart
Placing high stakes, making hearts ache
He’s loved in seven languages
Jewel box life diamond nights and ruby lights, high in the sky
Heaven help him, when he falls

Diamond life, lover boy
He move in space with minimum waste and maximum joy
City lights and business nights
When you require streetcar desire for higher heights
No place for beginners or sensitive hearts
When sentiment is left to chance
No place to be ending but somewhere to start

No need to ask
He’s a smooth operator
Smooth operator, smooth operator
Smooth operator
Coast to coast, LA to Chicago, western male
Across the north and south, to Key Largo, love for sale

Face to face, each classic case
We shadow box and double cross
Yet need the chase
A license to love, insurance to hold
Melts all your memories and change into gold
His eyes are like angels but his heart is cold

No need to ask
He’s a smooth operator
Smooth operator, smooth operator
Smooth operator
Coast to coast, LA to Chicago, western male
Across the north and south, to Key Largo, love for sale

Smooth operator, smooth operator
Smooth operator, smooth operator
Smooth operator, smooth operator
Smooth operator, smooth operator
Smooth operator, smooth operator

You know he’s bad for you but you can’t resist, the story has been repeated around the world but the female heart will keep tripping for the bad boys, a trifle sad. Sade knows a lot about dysfunctional love, the next song is one of her signature songs. Another song about love that the woman feels too grateful for, while I believe love is a huge miracle and no one really deserves it, but if you’re in a relationship with someone and he/she doesn’t let you know they find you amazing even with your plenty flaws and quirks and you don’t think the same of them. I think you should think long and hard about it- my thoughts. 

“No Ordinary Love”
I gave you all the love I got
I gave you more than I could give
I gave you love
I gave you all that I have inside
And you took my love
You took my love
Didn’t I tell you
What I believe
Did somebody say that
A love like that won’t last
Didn’t I give you
All that I’ve got to give baby

I gave you all the love I got
I gave you more than I could give
I gave you love
I gave you all that I have inside
And you took my love
You took my love

I keep crying
I keep trying for you
There’s nothing like you and I baby

This is no ordinary love
No ordinary Love
This is no ordinary love
No ordinary Love

When you came my way
You brightened every day
With your sweet smile

Didn’t I tell you
What I believe
Did somebody say that
A love like that won’t last
Didn’t I give you
All that I’ve got to give baby

This is no ordinary love
No ordinary Love
This is no ordinary love
No ordinary Love

I keep crying
I keep trying for you
There’s nothing like you and I baby

This is no ordinary love
No ordinary Love
This is no ordinary love
No ordinary Love

Keep trying for you
Keep crying for you
Keep flying for you
Keep flying I’m falling
I’m falling

Keep trying for you
Keep crying for you
Keep flying for you
Keep flying for you I’m falling
I’m falling

Notice how she didn’t mention he gave her love, just referenced his smile. Ok I know I’m cynical but sometimes the signs are there and we choose to ignore them. Maybe when I fall in love, I won’t feel this way. I’d be all mushy brained and all, maybe not.

Leave a Reply

