My favourite songs // Songs I like episode 3

Welcome to the third part of the songs I like series, l really dig old songs, I’m sure you’ve noticed. I don’t think I have a bias for love songs but I realised that most of the songs I’ll be featuring here are love songs #howdidthathappen, so I’m saying it before the thought runs through your mind. With that out of the way, I’ll proceed with the next songs on the series.
This song is by the defunct group lighthouse family, these guys put the “easy” in the easy listening genre and I’m so chuffed that Tunde the vocalist is of Nigerian descent. Here goes the beautiful song, Question of faith. It’s another song you can listen to at 1am and it will make absolute sense.

“Question Of Faith”
Can’t see the truth in triggered words
Don’t need a mountain for a wall
See the big old moon spin around the world
Somehow it makes me feel so small
I know I’ve been living the simple life, really that’s the main thing
Nowadays nobody speaks about the way they feel about things
I know I need something to set me right, now it seems there’s nothing
Nowadays nobody thinks about a way to ease the suffering

Baby I know you’re the first thing
I believe in, honestly
How do you prove what you can’t see?
Well, it’s a question of faith
Baby I know you’re the first thing
I believe in, honestly
Say you don’t know enough about me
Well, it’s a question of faith

Don’t wanna complain, the weather could be worse
But I wish I’d learned from my mistakes
Don’t really need no clever words
To understand what’s in your face
I know I’ve been living the simple life, really that’s the main thing
Nowadays nobody speaks about the way they feel about things
I know I need something to set me right; now it seems there’s nothing
Nowadays nobody thinks about a way to ease the suffering

Baby I know you’re the first thing
I believe in, honestly
How do you prove what you can’t see?
Well, it’s a question of faith

Baby I know you’re the first thing
I believe in, honestly
Say you don’t know enough about me
Well, it’s a question of faith

Moving on, song two is a “recent” song, I heard it first on the Tonight Show starring Jimmy Fallon, he had a lip sync competition with Paul Rudd and Paul thrashed Jimmy but that is not today’s story.

“Fancy”
(feat. Charli XCX)
[Verse 1: Iggy Azalea]
First thing’s first, I’m the realist (realist)
Drop this and let the whole world feel it (let them feel it)
And I’m still in the Murda Bizness
I could hold you down, like I’m givin’ lessons in physics (right, right)
You should want a bad bitch like this (huh?)
Drop it low and pick it up just like this (yeah)
Cup of Ace, cup of Goose, cup of Cris
High heels, somethin’ worth a half a ticket on my wrist (on my wrist)
Takin’ all the liquor straight, never chase that (never)
Rooftop like we bringin’ ’88 back (what?)
Bring the hooks in, where the bass at?
Champagne spillin’, you should taste that

[Chorus: Charli XCX]
I’m so fancy
You already know
I’m in the fast lane
From L.A. to Tokyo
I’m so fancy
Can’t you taste this gold?
Remember my name
‘Bout to blow

[Verse 2: Iggy Azalea]
I said, “Baby, I do this, I thought that you knew this.”
Can’t stand no haters and honest, the truth is
And my flow retarded, each beat did depart it
Swagger on stupid, I can’t shop in no department
To get my money on time, if they not money, decline
And swear I meant that there so much that they give that line a rewind
So get my money on time, if they not money, decline
I just can’t worry ’bout no haters, gotta stay on my grind
Now tell me, who that, who that? That do that, do that?
Put that paper over all, I thought you knew that, knew that
I be the I-G-G-Y, put my name in bold
I been working, I’m up in here with some change to throw

[Chorus: Charli XCX]
I’m so fancy
You already know
I’m in the fast lane
From L.A. to Tokyo
I’m so fancy
Can’t you taste this gold?
Remember my name
‘Bout to blow

[Bridge: Charli XCX]
Trash the hotel
Let’s get drunk on the mini bar
Make the phone call
Feels so good getting what I want
Yeah, keep on turning it up
Chandelier swinging, we don’t give a fuck
Film star, yeah I’m deluxe
Classic, expensive, you don’t get to touch
Ow…

[Verse 3: Iggy Azalea]
Still stuntin’, how you love that?
Got the whole world asking how I does that
Hot girl, hands off, don’t touch that
Look at it I bet you wishing you could clutch that
It’s just the way you like it, huh?
You so good, he’s just wishing he could bite it, huh?
Never turn down money,
Slaying these hoes, gold trigger on the gun like

[Chorus: Charli XCX]
I’m so fancy
You already know
I’m in the fast lane
From L.A. to Tokyo
I’m so fancy
Can’t you taste this gold?
Remember my name
‘Bout to blow

[Outro:]
Who that, who that, I-G-G-Y
That do that, do that, I-I-G-G-Y
Who that, who that, I-I-I-G-G-Y
Blow

Who-who-who-who that, who that, I-G-G-Y
That do that, do that, I-I-G-G-Y
Who that, who that, I-I-I-G-G-Y
Blow

Now this is one song I don’t listen closely to, didn’t even read the lyrics I just pasted here sef *tongue out* but I like the brashness and sass in the song and the video is a joy to watch.
As always there’s a bonus song and today’s song is “high” by lighthouse family. It’s another beautiful song you should check out, that is if you don’t know it already.
Do have a swell weekend.
PS: all the lyrics in this series are from http://www.azlyrics.com

Leave a Reply

