My favourite songs //Songs I like episode 2

  Bryan Adams is one singer/song writer whom I’ve loved practically all my life (my parents were very into music, always had a song playing on the radio in my early childhood), and his smoothly gravelly vocals were a staple of our Saturdays, along with Rod Stewart, Jimmy Cliff, Smokie, Sting and a host of others in the rock and raggae genres.
Fast forward a few years, I’m in Benin City for my clearance into Uniben after gaining admission and I discover that my uncle (De Chibu) is an ardent Bryan Adams fan. Through him, I discovered some songs I didn’t know before (My uncle is a connoisseur of fine music, any song he likes is a classic, trust me) Among the songs Dede (ibo word for uncle) introduced me to is “I’m ready” by Bryan Adams.
The song brings to mind a simple orchestra, the instrumentals are really dope, it’s definitely a song you can listen to at 1am. It’s a love song that is definitely not sappy, I hate sappy songs by the way. I’d love to walk up the aisle with this song playing, the song saying that this commitmentphobe isn’t running no more. Unfortunately I can’t have my wish because it’s not a gospel song and this is naija, maybe the wedding won’t hold here and I’ll get to have what I want, a girl can dream can’t she?

                     “I’m Ready”
I’d like to see you, thought I’d let you know
I wanna be with you everyday
Cause I’ve got a feeling that’s beginning to grow
And there’s only one thing I can say

I’m ready – to love you
I’m ready – to hold you
I’m ready – I’m ready
Ready as I’m gonna be

She left me a long note when she left me here
Told me that love was hard to find
But baby it’s easy and I’ll make it clear
That there’s only one thing on my mind

I’m ready – to love you
I’m ready – to hold you
I’m ready – I’m ready
Ready as I’m gonna be

When Bryan Adams name is mentioned, the song that usually comes to mind is his grammy award winning song “Everything I do- I do it for you” Of course it’s one of my favourite songs, along with his other classics like “straight from the heart” and “please forgive me”, however the purpose of this series is not to bring to light already popular songs but to show some beautiful but criminally underplayed songs. The next song is also by Bryan, another love song. Its title is simple, its title is “heaven”

“Heaven”
Oh – thinkin’ about all our younger years
There was only you and me
We were young and wild and free
Now nothin’ can take you away from me
We’ve been down that road before
But that’s over now
You keep me comin’ back for more

And baby, you’re all that I want
When you’re lyin’ here in my arms
I’m findin’ it hard to believe
We’re in heaven
And love is all that I need
And I found it there in your heart
It isn’t too hard to see
We’re in heaven

Oh – once in your life you find someone
Who will turn your world around
Bring you up when you’re feelin’ down
Yeah – nothin’ could change what you mean to me
Oh there’s lots that I could say
But just hold me now
Cause our love will light the way

And baby, you’re all that I want
When you’re lyin’ here in my arms
I’m findin’ it hard to believe
We’re in heaven
And love is all that I need
And I found it there in your heart
It isn’t too hard to see
We’re in heaven

I’ve been waitin’ for so long
For somethin’ to arrive
For love to come along
Now our dreams are comin’ true
Through the good times and the bad
Yeah – I’ll be standin’ there by you

And baby, you’re all that I want
When you’re lyin’ here in my arms
I’m findin’ it hard to believe
We’re in heaven
And love is all that I need
And I found it there in your heart
It isn’t too hard to see
We’re in heaven, heaven, oooh
You’re all that I want
You’re all that I need
We’re in heaven
We’re in heaven
We’re in heaven

Another song with awesome production, instrumentals are off the hook and his voice! Let me say no more!
Today’s bonus song is “Summer of 69” also by Bryan, when UD my cousin was a toddler,  he totally loved the song. How time flies, my UD will be entering secondary school this September. May the Lord’s name be praised forever and ever
PS I also like Tevin Campbell’s “I’m ready too”…

One Comment

Leave a Reply

