My favourite songs episode 1

“Still”
Lady, morning’s just a moment away
And I’m without you once again
You laughed at me
You said you never needed me
I wonder if you need me now

[Chorus:]
So many dreams that flew away
So many words we didn’t say
Two people lost in a storm
Where did we go?
Where’d we go?
We lost what we both had found
You know we let each other down
But then most of all
I do love you
Still!

We played the games that people play
We made our mistakes along the way
Somehow I know deep in my heart
You needed me
’cause I needed you so desperatly!
We were too blind to see
But then most of all
I do love you
Still!

I’ve loved this song for a loooooooooooooong time, 4 or 5years old to be precise, I was drawn by the melancholic undertones in the song. It’s obviously about loving someone who you’re not with anymore and regretting the circumstances that forced you apart. While I don’t believe in crying over spilt milk, I think it’s stupid to throw a great relationship away just because of external factors, at least so you don’t go singing “Still” in the middle of the night
Download the song here

The second song I’ll be sharing is a song that was sent to me by a very special friend, everything about this song I love, from the lyrics (tender, heartfelt yet  unsappy) to the guitar riffs looping through the song. I’ve always liked Michael Buble, ever since I heard his version of Dean Martins ‘Sway’ (I prefer Buble’s) I knew he’s an immensely talented guy. Here’s the song I’ve been raving about….

                   “Everything”
You’re a falling star, you’re the get away car.
You’re the line in the sand when I go too far.
You’re the swimming pool, on an August day.
And you’re the perfect thing to say.
And you play it coy but it’s kinda cute.
Ah, when you smile at me you know exactly what you do.
Baby don’t pretend that you don’t know it’s true.
’cause you can see it when I look at you.

[Chorus:]
And in this crazy life, and through these crazy times
It’s you, it’s you, you make me sing.
You’re every line, you’re every word, you’re everything.

You’re a carousel, you’re a wishing well,
And you light me up, when you ring my bell.
You’re a mystery, you’re from outer space,
You’re every minute of my everyday.
And I can’t believe, uh that I’m your man,
And I get to kiss you baby just because I can.
Whatever comes our way, ah we’ll see it through,
And you know that’s what our love can do.

[Chorus:]
And in this crazy life, and through these crazy times
It’s you, it’s you, you make me sing.
You’re every line, you’re every word, you’re everything.
You’re every song, and I sing along.
‘Cause you’re my everything.
Yeah, yeah
So, la, la, la, la, la, la, la
So, la, la, la, la, la, la, la
Download the song here
As a bonus I’ll also include the download link for Sway, ain’t I generous? 😉 it’s a fabulous song especially if you like salsa… wish I could dance. I just wish.

Leave a Reply

