A simple meal

Once upon a time, this young woman went to culinary school, however she dropped out after the first stage. She’ll go back one day and complete it, God willing.
A few days ago I had a hankering for prawns and tomatoes, I love prawns but dislike tomatoes. However on that day I wanted tomatoes (No I’m not preggie… I think) so I decided to make prawn and tomato sauce.
I have a ship load of spices, thanks to the aforementioned culinary school, so I decided to make it with an Asian slant.
I like marinating my ingredients overnight in spices and that’s what I did.
First I marinated my prawns in spice for fish, soy sauce and cayenne pepper

image

Then I marinated my tomatoes, bell pepper, bonet pepper and onions in sweet basil, curry, oyster sauce and oregano

image

And popped both dishes in the freezer. I should have kept the tomatoes in the fridge to retain its texture, however I didn’t want to use any oil in the sauce and I know adding the tomatoes in the pot without oil would mean I’d have to cook it for a long time to extract the juice #aintgattimeforthat. So putting it in the freezer would extract the juice and thawing it will give me ready to use juice
The next morning I get my dishes from the freezer and thaw them. Putting the prawns in a saucepan, I stir fry for about 5 minutes, no oil! Just the prawn and soy sauce. Then I add my juice laden tomatoes and cook for a further 5 minutes, and no I didn’t add any salt to my sauce, soy sauce and oyster sauce can be very salty.

image

I had it with dodo (fried plantains) and Sangria flavoured fruit juice
I got a lot of mileage from my sauce, in the evening I added eggs and had it with rice and beans and a cold glass of Ribena.
The next morning, I added fresh pumpkin to the eggy sauce and had it with rice.
  My next food post will be on Chinese fried rice… I think! Will try and do a food post weekly or at least biweekly. God help not to get bored with it.

image

Posted from WordPress for Android

Leave a Reply

