Through the years with Obinna

It is family legend that though I wasn’t even in the hospital when Obi was born, I knew the exact moment he was born, you see at 2:15pm that 8th of July, the eighteen month old me suddenly cryed “tata!” (A colloquial word for baby) with glee. My grandmother told my aunt to note the time because the expected baby had been born. And in LUTH my mum welcomed the baby at that same time.
With only eighteen months between us, I can’t remember life without my “little brother”, he was the torn in my flesh and my constant companion

image

                                                             Looking after my little brother from day one
We fought like fighting paid the bills, we could fight for hours, just don’t try to separate us… The battle will be resolved on your body. We fought over the most stupid things, sitting on the other person’s chair *like we bought any chair*, who got the ‘milk spoon’ (that’s a story for another day), who sat in front of the car with daddy etc. Yet he was my staunchest defender, keeper of secrets, shoulder to cry on…

                                                                               Fierce
He was also the coveter of my toys, anything I got, he had to have or World War 3 would erupt. He stopped when he turned five though, he decided he was a big boy and didn’t need my stuff for validation. Even as a toddler he was mechanically minded, he was always dismantling things to know how they work (I still haven’t forgiven you for spoiling my train set) and was looking for what to dismantle, today there’s nothing he can’t fix!
I could whole books on my brother, how he saved my life when I fell from a bus in the middle of Ojuelegba on a Saturday morning, how he still thinks I’m great even with knowing my biggest screw ups, but he’s not the mushy type and it would embarrass him to no end to see this post already.
I’ll just say I love you man! To Neptune and back! Happy birthday little bro. The lyrics of the song below says a little of how I feel about you, just a scratch on the surface of a mountain

            “Through The Years” Kenny Rogers
I can’t remember when you weren’t there
When I didn’t care for anyone but you
I swear we’ve been through everything there is
Can’t imagine anything we’ve missed
Can’t imagine anything the two of us can’t do
Through the years
You’ve never let me down
You turned my life around
The sweetest days I’ve found
I’ve found with you
Through the years
I’ve never been afraid
I’ve loved the life we’ve made
And I’m so glad I stayed
Right here with you
Through the years
I can’t remember what I used to do
Who I trusted whom, I listened to before
I swear you’ve taught me everything I know
Can’t imagine needing someone so
But through the years it seems to me
I need you more and more
Through the years
Through all the good and bad
I knew how much we had
I’ve always been so glad
To be with you
Through the years
It’s better everyday
You’ve kissed my tears away
As long as it’s okay
I’ll stay with you
Through the years
Through the years
When everything went wrong
Together we were strong
I know that I belong
Right here with you
Through the years
I never had a doubt
We’d always work things out
I’ve learned what life’s about
By loving you
Through the years
Through the years
You’ve never let me down
You turned my life around
The sweetest days I’ve found
I’ve found with you
Through the years
It’s better everyday
You’ve kissed my tears away
As long as it’s okay
I’ll stay with you
Through the years

6 Comments

  1. Chynanu, I oddly feel the same abt my kid sista. Love her more with evry passing day. Even brideprice.com.ng can’t ascertain her worth. Happy birthday Ob.
    Smallie…nice one Oris.iLike. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

