A fitting cliché

image

I don’t need your money mister man, I make my own
I so do not need your gifts, you probably won’t know what I like
I don’t need your direction, my parents didn’t raise no fool
I don’t need you to shield me, Honey I’m tougher than you
I don’t need you to understand politics, computers, sports… My father and brothers were great teachers
I don’t need you to “provide” for me, my father didn’t  send me to school
and pay school fees for twenty one years for me to end up a trophy on your shelf.
All I need is your time, your affection, your attention and respect.
I need to be to know I’m important to you, to know I run through your mind more than once daily.
With that we’re good.

Leave a Reply

