Of walks and film festivals

I have no idea how to start this post, should I start by talking about my dance aerobics session this morning, or how I’m nursing a broken heart right now. I know the one you’ll pick, una too like love matter.
This morning I twerked, jerked and twisted to Can you do this by Aloe Blacc, that guy has me right now. Danced for twenty minutes and worked up buckets of sweat, I’m the world’s worst dancer but when I’m doing my dance aerobics… Jeffrey Daniels doesn’t come close.
After resting I decided to go for a long walk- a certain slave driver commanded me to take 14k steps today

image

            Dressed for the walk, had red shorts on
Did you notice the beautiful hairstyle? Don’t know the name but its didi though.

image

              A closer look?
I love taking pictures- especially selfies, have got almost 9k pictures on my tab and 7k of them have got to be selfies yet there’s hardly a picture of me here. Food for thought now, innit?
Was on my way and on 574 steps when I ran into Emmanuel who’s a content provider for radio and television, would have advertised his youtube channel but I’m too pissed at him right now. He was on his way to a film festival and invited me to tag along. The shindig was taking place at freedom park near TBS, I jumped at the opportunity reluctantly (only me can do that, it’s a gift and a…) I’m not a film person and I’m also a philistine when it comes to the arts so it wasn’t too attractive an offer. However the opportunity to leave Surulere was too tempting coupled with the fact that I get to roll my eyes and scoff at them artillectuals propelled me to go.
As we are both carless, we boarded kekes and a bus to takeus there, the bus ride from Costain to CMS bustop was the stuff they write thriller epics about, I’m really grateful to Jehovah that I got out in one piece.
I love Lagos island, the marina is my favourite part and Christ Church has a special place in my heart, it’s the most beautiful church in the world to me, I so wanna get married there. Wanted to take pictures of it but Emma advised against it, I painfully shelved the idea.
One keke ride later, we were at Freedom park. The place was a former prison sef, one of the reasons I love Lagos island is how steeped in history the place is, Shuggie and I played tourist there last month and we had a blast. According to a magazine Emma gave me Freedom Park was former Broad Street Prison and it was transformed by the Architect Theo Nelson, the guy try no be small.

image

     The film festival banner at the gate
I fell in like with a church opposite the park, it looks a little like Christ Church, its the Holy Cross Cathedral. Cathedral church of Christ still fine pass am sha, and no its not my Anglican bias speaking.

image

Emma had work to do in Igroove radio before heading for the festival, heard of them today, will listen to them soon though I’m not a radio person. They broadcast from Freedom Park, their offices are pretty- yes pretty! That’s the only word that does it justice.
I headed to the venue of the film thingy, the panelist speaking was Chris Ihidero. I love his pieces, he’s a filmmaker but its his weekly post for thenetng.org that is selling point for me (don’t get it twisted, he’s a brilliant filmmaker too), he’s funny, irreverent but he passes his hard message undiluted even all the humour and sarcasm- I want that! He was talking about twerking when I got in, talked about how not everyone can twerk eg him “but some people’s butts can be poetic”,Taiwo Ajai Lycett piped in “I can twerk”. That woman can act sha. She made my skin crawl during her turn as Yahimba in Tinsel, it’s only a soap but I was unsettled when I saw her, she’s so good my usually rational brain couldn’t understand Yahimba is only a character, smh at it.
Guess who I ran into at the festival?

image

      Oris!
The young man was hiding from his legion of adoring female fans, so engrossed in the discussion that I had to run on stage to get his attention *I kid* Had a great time with him and Meres, I kinda suspected they’d be there cos they are both geniuses and artheads. Oris had seen my blog and thought it was good, was still rejoicing at his praise when he hit me with an avalanche of yabs on my 2 words posts, thank God for thick skin sha. Meres said I lost weight, wanted to hug him!
Saw Wale Ojo there- yes the Wale Ojo of Phone swap, the man was in a lime green hoodie, don’t know how I spotted him sef

image

Also saw Nneka, Patrick Doyle, Ade Bantu- that man is tall!, Charles Novia, Temi Dollface, didn’t see Emmy Collins *I kid*
Strolled round the compound and took a few pictures

image

image

image

image

image

Did you see how I made the water seem so beautiful, like running diamonds? Do you think I have a career in photography?

image

image

King’s College Lagos, parents’ visiting day

image

Close to this Court, I saw a sacrifice  to the gods in earthern bowls, gross!

image

Lunch

image

Me looking trimmer, just don’t look at the stomach o

image

Emma

image

Finally took the picture of Christ Church
I just discovered Aramide today and her songs are great! Have been listening to Feeling this feeling in the 3 hours it took me to write this post and it’s a good one though I don’t really agree with one thing in it. Shuggie’s on my mind as I listen to the words of the song, could have written it for you, I’m sorry for being an ass, forgive me.

image

Wish I could buy you this beach as a bribe.
Time to end this post, Oris hope it’s long enough for ya.
       Have a stupendous week folks
                  Adaeze

PS this post was written on Sunday night, my wordpress for android refused to upload it.

Posted from WordPress for Android

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

