If you’ve got it…

I’m currently on a weight loss quest, have lost 5kg so far (23 days) and I’m so proud of myself. This is the first time I’m following an exercise regimen faithfully, amazingly I’m loving it too. My clothes are getting a little loose, I find myself doing things I never thought I’d do (situps, skipping Etal), I’m excited by the possibility of a fitter and svelte me.
I’ve always loved sleeveless dresses, but when I was in my teens I started having stretch marks on my forearms and my shoulders and that made me refuse to buy and wear sleeveless dresses, tops etc no matter how beautiful they were, was ashamed of my stretch marks. One day in 2013, my mum bought a beautiful sleeveless gown for me, it was too beautiful to be sacrificed on the altar of stretch marks and shame. That was how I overcame my aversion for my own stretch marks.
Today on ofilispeaks.com I saw a post on a lady who’s overweight and posted a picture of herself in a lovely 2 piece bathing suit, honestly my first thought was ‘she shouldn’t wear something like this in public her stretch marks are on display’. Then it hit me, I was already casting pebbles at her. I humbly read the rest of the post and repented of my sizeism, I’m overweight and definitely knows how it feels to be prejudged just because you’re fat, how most people tell you how you’d be pretty if only you lost weight, you don’t have a man because you’re too fat and such claptrap.
The thrust of her message was love thy self, celebrate yourself and be the fabulous you God made. She talked about some people who were unkind to her even as a child, they carelessly hurt her, I’m glad she’s a very resilient person. You can read the post here http://ofilispeaks.com/warning-picture-might-considered-obscene-subject-thin/
Keep celebrating yourself and flaunting your happiness. hasta la vista, amigos

5 Comments

Leave a Reply

